Chocolate Mocha Liqueur Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Fantastic! Very moist. We followed a previous reviewer's advice and left out the oil in the recipe entirely. It came out just fine. I'm curious to hear reviews from people who used different combinations of chocolate / vanilla cake mix and chocolate / vanilla pudding. For the icing, we used Smart Balance spread instead of butter. The icing turned out runny but really added to the taste. We also nixed the vodka and used that much more kahlua. Next time I'll try the same recipe with Irish Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This is the best liquor cake I have ever tasted! Instead of the vodka and coffee liquor, I used blackberry brandy. I topped the cake with fresh strawberries and raspberries instead of frosting - it is already plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
always a hit at parties! i use a little less butter for the sauce, and the cake is still very moist. i've also substituted kahlua for the coffee liqueur when i ran out. dust with powdered sugar and serve with berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
We get the BEST compliments with this cake! We've tried it w/ butterscotch pudding and buttershots, banana, chambord (our fave so far), kahlua, and for the holidays... peppermint schnapps. It always disappears! Just sprinkle w/ a little powered suger and it's done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
a good cake, but the mocha side does not come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Yummy!! One time, I forgot to add vegi oil, but came out actually good and my family likes it better w/out oil, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Incredible! So moist and so delicious. I used all coffee liquer for the frosting, rather than a mixture of vodka and coffee liquer and it was wonderful. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Great tasting cake, and very moist, BUT replace the coffee liqueur with Chambord instead. Absolutely incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETWIRED

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This cake is a WINNER! Very easy to make, and because of the hot sauce you add after the cake has baked...the cake is ultra moist. All my guests oooh and ahhh and beg for more. I'm making two cakes for the next party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Very good and very easy! I've made it for several parties and it dissapears!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States