Chocolate Mocha Liqueur Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is reminiscent of a WONDERFUL cake I used to order every year from Neiman Marcus. I used French Chambord in place of the liqueur. Otherwise, I made it as the recipe called for it to be made. I served it on a dessert plate with whipped cream and fresh raspberries. Family went wild! Already clamoring for me to make another. If you really wanna impress, make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willowbas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
definitely a keeper in my recipe box. i added 1/4 cup of Godiva liqueur as well as a few tablespoons of instant coffee to the batter which really brought the flavors out. "Candy is Dandy but Liquor is Quicker" - Willy Wonka
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Excellent cake! I love coffee liquor and am always looking for recipes to cook with it. I used a dark chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding, also threw in a half a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips that I had left over. I don't care for vodka, so I substituted irish cream liquor instead. Sprinkled with powdered sugar as it already awesome without any frosting! Thanks for sharing! This will definately become a holiday tradition at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Wow.......this was great! I used a dark chocolate cake mix with vanilla pudding, 4 eggs and 1/4 cup oil. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccybermom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This cake was the hit of the party. I added a big handfull of mini chocolate chips to the cake batter and used all Kahula, no vodka, in the cake and glaze. Poured Pro Ganache from this site over it and garnished with drizzles of melted white chocolate. It was beautiful, and tasted like chocolate heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Extra easy to prepare and another crowd favorite - was perfect with coffee after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This cake was absolutely delicious. I used chambord instead of the coffee liqueur. It was truly amazing. I also used a chocolate frosting (chocolate frosting IV) on the top (it was a glaze) and it made this cake even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Fantastic! My husband gobbled it up & licked his plate clean... he said it tastes like tiramisu. So far I've tried this recipe two different ways, both times I used Triple Chocolate Fudge cake mix but once I used vanilla pudding and the other time I used chocolate pudding - my husband like the chocolate pudding cake better. I used 4 eggs and 1/4 cup oil. I only made a half-recipe of glaze (it was delicious), spooned some of it over the sliced pieces of cake, and poured the rest over the uncut cake - it made a lot. Thanks for the great recipe, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Oh my! Absolute best cake. Can't wait to try some of the other combinations. Note: I've seen similar recipes that call for 1/2 cup oil and four eggs. Seems a little more reasonable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States