Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is a delicious recipe. I added a raspberry filling & topped it with a mocha icing...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMark66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is very close to the Chocolate Buttermilk Brownies that I made a week or so go. This recipe is close to a Crazy Cake or Texas Sheet Cake. I made the cake exactly to recipe, only using butter instead of oil. I didn't have enough coffee powder to make a Mocha or Coffee Icing, so I used the Chocolate Buttermilk icing that I'd used on the other cake. Moist, for sure but it's awfully rich. I'd make this again for a gathering, when it's not just my family. NOTE: I baked this in a 9x13 pan instead of two 9 inch round pans. EDITED: Now that this cake has sat overnight, I don't care for the flavor. The amount of cocoa and the coffee combined is too sharp and strong for me. If I were to make this again, I'd cut back on the cocoa a bit. It's just too much. I think this would be better with a cinnamon icing or eaten plain, with a touch of cinnamon added to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this cake batter recipe. It is so moist and delicious. It is one of my favorites and I use it as a base all of the time. I often tweak the flavor, adding other flavorful liquids and spices instead of the water and coffee powder, or just using water and adding a bit more chocolate to make a plain chocolate cake. It's all about the quality of cocoa. This cake also makes delicious layered cake. I once filled it with raspberry filling and frosted it with: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Stabilized-Whipped-Cream-Icing/Detail.aspx. DELICIOUS. I also used this chocolate cake recipe with the same frosting above, but with crushed candy canes added to the frosting. AMAZING. The point is this is a fantastic recipe and it is super easy to get creative with the flavors you combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I enjoyed this cake very much, although the coffee flavour did not come through as much as I'd hoped. I did use a frosting recipe that made up for that though, the "Coffee Butter Frosting" from AR. I used instant espresso instead of strong, brewed coffee but it did not make a difference. The cake was light and airy, as well as not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Overall, I enjoyed the cake very much. I only gave it four stars however, because despite triping the amount of coffee and adding coffee liqueur, there was virtually no coffee flavor at all. I was disappointed by this, but otherwise, loved the cake. I used a Bailey's Irish Cream Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
this is an excellent and very yummy cake.we made this for our parents anniversery and my family members kept asking for doubles!! however, i needed to triple the amount of coffee required and there still was only a subtle hint to its flavor in the cake. otherwise, it is definetly a keeper! thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, but I made an altered version. I added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter, and I spread nutella and layered sliced strawberries between the cake levels. I then dusted the top with icing sugar and decorated it with more sliced strawberries. It turned out really well, and because I got the nutella on quickly, it melted nicely, making it extra moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a great cake when making a layer cake. The layers come out perfect with no bulging tops and very easy to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Jeslyn
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I lessen the sugar to 300g instead of 400g because I used a regular cocoa powder and I think it will be too sweet on my taste. Maybe I overbeat it, a little heavy on my liking but great taste. Will bake this again. I used light and creamy brown sugar frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeslyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This cake was amazing! It turned our very well. It tasted exactly like the cakes in a fancy restaurant.I topped it with the coffee frosting. A great blend. Very very moist. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H Leblanc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States