Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cake is so delicious and moist, but I added WAY more instant coffee than called for and it added a barely-there mocha flavor. Iced with coffee frosting from this site, and it was amazing! 4 stars because I had to change the amounts of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Maybe 3 stars is harsh considering I tried to use this recipe for cupcakes. DON'T! The batter wouldn't rise enough, so the cupcakes were flat and then spilled over. They weren't dense enough to hold the cupcake shape either. The only reason I went ahead and gave it 3 stars is because I wasn't impressed with the flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hinds24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very good and I made coffee icing for it! Yummy Cake! I think it would make good cupcakes too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I will use this recipe again. Very good chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
very rich and delicious! i used maybe 2 or 3 tbsp of instant coffee powder. also used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
So easy to make! Moist, delicious and to yummy with a coffee frosting or glaze. Buttermilk is the secret weapon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
So dense and moist and so so perfect. I made the mocha frosting, with a tablespoon of Kahlua added and it was so good I nearly licked the plate! Add in the fact that it's easy to make...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this cake with a few changes and it was absolutely amazing! I used half 100% natural cane sugar and half honey instead of the sugar that the cake called for. I also used 3 tbsp of coffee instead of one. The cake was moist and delicious, and people who ate it literally gaped. I filled it with alternating layers of mocha cream and homemade strawberry jam, and frosted it with caramel frosting. I'll definitely make it again, it was easy and incredible :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This cake is unbelievable! I used melted baking chocolate and omitted cocoa and oil 'cause that's all I had. It turned out devine. It was so moist and decadent that I think I'm going to use this recipe as my secret weapon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very good - good body to this cake - moist - I used 4 Tbsp. coffee...still no mocha flavor - I used less sugar - instead of buttermilk used 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup l.f. sour cream - I would add 1 cup semisweet choc. chips to the batter next time - this is a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States