Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by missyluvsbruce
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I have made this cake several times. It is moist and tastes great. The mocha flavor is very light so if you want more mocha taste add more coffee. I frosted my cake with Rich Chocolate Frosting from AllRecipes but frosting calls for 2 1/2 cups cocoa I cut it in half and added extra powdered sugar and it still has a very nice chocolate flavor. Topped cake off with strawberries in a flavor shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I would like to think of myself as a very competent baker but there are a few little tweaks I had to make. I used a cup of atomic coffee which was the only way to get the flavour of Coffee in there. The cake required at least 20 more minutes cooking time then suggested and that was obvious just by looking at the batter and the temperature will range from oven to oven but i definitely will turn mine down next time as it cooked the outside too fast. Overall it is a good chocolate cake recipe. Maybe a bit too moist for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Delicious! I've made this cake three times in the last month for birthday occasions. It has been loved and requested again & again. I used the Chocolate Ganache in between the layers and as the icing on top. Chocolate heaven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Love the taste of the cake, but it didn't rise even though followed the recipe exactly. Little disappointed because it was so dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly, and it was wonderful! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Moist and delicious. next time I will double to coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I've made this cake several times and it is always received with rave reviews. I make it just as the recipe says and it turns out dense and very moist and chocolatey. I used a chocolate butter cream frosting the last time because that is what my grandson requested but I will try other frostings in the future. It is a GREAT one bowl recipe that you can count on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maya
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Wonderful recipe! The cake was rich and dark and perfect! I added more coffee to taste and put walnuts and coffee beans on top for decoration. An absolute must for any coffee lover! My whole family went crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very delicious! I used strong brewed espresso instead of the instant coffee and hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I just ate a crumb and I love it already. Used slightly less than a cup of sugar as we don't like our cakes too sweet. Baked in 2 loaf pans as I don't have cakes pans. Baked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States