Chocolate Mint Milkshake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I did not expect much from this. I think it's excellent--better than I thought it would be. I've had a hard time making milk shakes at home because they are usually too runny. I followed the measurements exactly and it turned out great. This was ice cream shop taste. I used Bryer's all natural vanilla ice cream and Hershey's syrup and pure peppermint extract. I also made some minus the peppermint extract but plus coconut extract. I much preferred the mint. There is something very yummy and subtle about using vanilla ice cream and adding syrup to make it chocolate. I recommend at least trying it that way even if you try it sometime with chocolate ice cream, too. BEWARE: my 3 and 5 year old took a few sips and then asked for "regular ice cream in a bowl" --with chocolate syrup on top, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe and was a bit disappointed. It wasn't very thick, and only made about 10 ounces. The second time, I doubled the amount of ice cream and it came out much better. It was much thicker, but it still wasn't enough for 2 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Wonderful! I added a bit more mint (to taste) but this was the perfect thickness and chocolatelyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Get's better with every sip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breimer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
OH MY WORD!!!!!! That was wonderful!!!!! Easy summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZB1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is one of the best shakes that I've made at home. I will keep this recipe handy to make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I was really looking forward to doing this but I didn't like it very much.It was too sweet and there was no taste of the peppermint extract.However it looked really pretty with whipped cream and grated chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kecius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Can't go wrong with this, it totally hits the spot. I might try for a "grown up" shake and use peppermint schnapps next time I have some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Love it! Got mint extract when I went to the store by mistake but still turned out fabulous. Also used the store brand premium brand vanilla ice cream (the stuff that come in the 1 pint sizes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Good, I too used chocolate ice cream and ommitted the syrup and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States