Chocolate Mint Mayonnaise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Very moist, the mint in the middle is a great addition, the frosting is good and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This was sooooo delicious! I kept trying to stop eating it to give everyone else a chance to get a piece, but it was a little to difficult. I'll definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftLass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
The recipe is well worth the effort. I brought the cake into work and received many requests for the recipe. An Excellent cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This cake was fabulous. I made it for my husband's birthday, and, although he says he hates mayonnaise and can taste it in anything, he hadn't a clue there was mayo in the mix! The second time I made the cake, I substiuted chcolate caramel bars for the chocolate mint patties, since I am not a huge fan of mint. It was even better with a layer of peanuts on top of that to make a chocolate Snickers cake! I will definitely be passing this recipe along to all of my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The cake is moist and delicious, but the frosting is too much and runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I made this cake for my son's 4th birthday party. It was great! People told me they really liked the cake. I was a little concerned by some of the reviews that talked about the icing being runny. I beat the icing for several minutes and when it still seemed runny, I put the icing pan in the freezer where it firmed up quite nicely. I highly recommend this cake and will be saving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I've made mayonnaise cakes before, but I find that this is the best "base" recipe, just make sure that the cakes are not overcooked, or they will go decidedly chewy. The first time I made this I happened to have a jar of Betty Crocker frosting in the cupboard, and, being a lazy person, I used that instead of making the frosting from the recipe. The result was absolutely superb, and I've used the store bought frosting ever since. One great thing about this recipe is that the mint stops the cake from becoming too overpowered by the chocolate content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Boy was this good. I don't really care for chocolate. I made this for my grandson's birthday. It was so easy and really moist.I did as another reviewer did and used store frosting. The thin mints really are a nice touch. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
WOW!!! I have baked this cake twice now and both times it was a hit at my husband's office. He has brought it in around 7:00am and the cake has been gone by 9:00am. I decided to bake it in a bundt pan and just drizzled the "frosting" over it. I have been asked for the recipe by several people and I have gladly shared it with them. Thank you for sharing it with us Cris!! HAPPY BAKING!!! I have been asked for the recipe from several people and I have gladly shared it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I had lost this recipe a long time ago and was thrilled to find it again just in time for my son's 6th birthday! It was a huge hit with both him and the rest of my family. It turned out nice and moist and very flavorable. I didn't use the mints in the center as suggested but used chocolate buttercream icing instead. I think that next time I'll try baking it with cake flour to see if i get a lighter texture. All in all though, excellent recipe, and VERY easy to make! Thanks bunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States