Chocolate Mint Mayonnaise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is an excellent cake - a few tips, though. For true mint lovers, the mint between the layers just isn't enough; for that extra oomph get crumbled Andes mints in your baking section of the grocery store and add approx 1/4 c right into the cake batter while mixing. They melt into the cake when baking and come out great! I also sprinkled some on top of cake after icing. Use a different, thicker fudge frosting - this one is too thin. Also, don't cook for the full time listed - I cooked for about 20 mins and stick with the old toothpick test and you'll be ok. Also found I needed to make two batches for the cake to be thick and moist as we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This cake was fabulous. I made it for my husband's birthday, and, although he says he hates mayonnaise and can taste it in anything, he hadn't a clue there was mayo in the mix! The second time I made the cake, I substiuted chcolate caramel bars for the chocolate mint patties, since I am not a huge fan of mint. It was even better with a layer of peanuts on top of that to make a chocolate Snickers cake! I will definitely be passing this recipe along to all of my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I made this cake for my son's 4th birthday party. It was great! People told me they really liked the cake. I was a little concerned by some of the reviews that talked about the icing being runny. I beat the icing for several minutes and when it still seemed runny, I put the icing pan in the freezer where it firmed up quite nicely. I highly recommend this cake and will be saving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
My son loves chocolate mint, so I picked this cake to make for his 13th birthday. I would say the cake was OK, but not fantastic. The mint layer did taste good and was just the right amount of mint taste, not too strong. However, if I made this recipe again, I would use a different frosting recipe. After completing the frosting as directed, it was more like a glaze and way too runny to actually use to frost the cake. It took over an hour for the frosting to cool and thicken enough to put on the cake and that hour included time spent cooling in the refrigerator. Also, the cake layers took less than 25 minutes to cook. I checked them after 21 minutes and they were done. If I had left them in the full 25 minutes, they would have been overcooked. Otherwise, this was an easy to make cake recipe with acceptable results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
WOW!!! I have baked this cake twice now and both times it was a hit at my husband's office. He has brought it in around 7:00am and the cake has been gone by 9:00am. I decided to bake it in a bundt pan and just drizzled the "frosting" over it. I have been asked for the recipe by several people and I have gladly shared it with them. Thank you for sharing it with us Cris!! HAPPY BAKING!!! I have been asked for the recipe from several people and I have gladly shared it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I've made mayonnaise cakes before, but I find that this is the best "base" recipe, just make sure that the cakes are not overcooked, or they will go decidedly chewy. The first time I made this I happened to have a jar of Betty Crocker frosting in the cupboard, and, being a lazy person, I used that instead of making the frosting from the recipe. The result was absolutely superb, and I've used the store bought frosting ever since. One great thing about this recipe is that the mint stops the cake from becoming too overpowered by the chocolate content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Cannot believe I forgot to rate this. I have made this more than once and LOVE IT. I get nothing but rave reviews on it, people always tell me that it looks like it came from a bakery. I add chocolate mints to the frosting while I am baking to give it that extra mint kick and then sprinkle with jimmies (chocolate sprinkles for those not from mass!!) to make it look nice... what a cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
My husband asked for a mayonaise cake for his birthday. I found this one. The mint intriqued me. The cake was excellent, but I had a little trouble with the frosting. I beat it and beat it, it never really got thick enough to spread on the cake. It was more like a glaze. What I put on the sides of the cake, mostly ran off. But the frosting tasted good. I will make this again, but may try a different frosting. Love the thin mints between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
i dont get how to make it its hard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Awesome! I double the recipe to make a two-tiered cake. It was so pretty and yummy! I just used store bought frosting, and it turned out great. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States