Chocolate Mint Mayonnaise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
WOW!!! I have baked this cake twice now and both times it was a hit at my husband's office. He has brought it in around 7:00am and the cake has been gone by 9:00am. I decided to bake it in a bundt pan and just drizzled the "frosting" over it. I have been asked for the recipe by several people and I have gladly shared it with them. Thank you for sharing it with us Cris!! HAPPY BAKING!!! I have been asked for the recipe from several people and I have gladly shared it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Considering all the rave reviews I was expecting something exceptional. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out OK. It had a good flavor but I thought it was somewhat dry. I liked the idea of the melted mint candies between the layers. I might try it again with a different cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Boy was this good. I don't really care for chocolate. I made this for my grandson's birthday. It was so easy and really moist.I did as another reviewer did and used store frosting. The thin mints really are a nice touch. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Prokop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This cake was really good, especially when served warm. The recipe for the fudge frosting can also be used as a hot-fudge topping for ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I've made mayonnaise cakes before, but I find that this is the best "base" recipe, just make sure that the cakes are not overcooked, or they will go decidedly chewy. The first time I made this I happened to have a jar of Betty Crocker frosting in the cupboard, and, being a lazy person, I used that instead of making the frosting from the recipe. The result was absolutely superb, and I've used the store bought frosting ever since. One great thing about this recipe is that the mint stops the cake from becoming too overpowered by the chocolate content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
the cake had a very good taste, but was kind of heavy....also, I found that the frosting needs to sit for at least 30 minutes to cool enough to frost the cake with it. Otherwise, it just runs all over the place. Everything had a good flavor, it just wasn't what you would call "pretty" if you know what i mean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I made this cake for my son's 4th birthday party. It was great! People told me they really liked the cake. I was a little concerned by some of the reviews that talked about the icing being runny. I beat the icing for several minutes and when it still seemed runny, I put the icing pan in the freezer where it firmed up quite nicely. I highly recommend this cake and will be saving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The cake is moist and delicious, but the frosting is too much and runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This cake went a little wrong for me- firstly I didn't have two 9inch cake pans, so I used 1 deep pan, and sliced it apart for the mint slices. Because the cake was extra thick- it took too long to cook and came out a little chewy, and then I found that the icing was a little too runny, and almost completely ran off the cake! I made it for my sons b'day party, and I didn't have a practice run.. so it wasn't a great hit among the guests! I probably won't make it again- although it was better the next day (and I did manage to polish it off, and not let any of it go to waste!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This cake was fabulous. I made it for my husband's birthday, and, although he says he hates mayonnaise and can taste it in anything, he hadn't a clue there was mayo in the mix! The second time I made the cake, I substiuted chcolate caramel bars for the chocolate mint patties, since I am not a huge fan of mint. It was even better with a layer of peanuts on top of that to make a chocolate Snickers cake! I will definitely be passing this recipe along to all of my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States