Chocolate Mint Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I served this at a casual dinner party without having tried it before (always a mistake) - it was terrible. I followed the instructions, making no alterations. The main problem is that when you serve it to someone, they expect it to have a mint flavor and the texture of ice cream, but instead tastes of pistacio and has the texture and density of frozen cool whip. You may be saying, "Duh, that's what the instructions say - you should've expected it." But my guests hadn't read the recipe, so they made gentle comments like, "Oh...is that, um, well it's not mint.. what is it?" "Oh, pistacio? Pistacio and oreo? Huh." Finally, we all laughed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Not as good as I thought it would be. I'd prefer mint chocolate ice cream as the filler instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I made this recipe last week. My boyfriend and I loved it. I used the regular oreos instead of mint. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Super easy to make. I made it exactly as written, right down to the number of cookies to use. Has a nice mild mint flavor, not strong which is nice. I used chocolate chips melted to drizzle on top and that really is the touch that puts it over the top taste wise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
it is very very good i loved it. as did my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I loved this pie! I am all for easy desserts, and this one is super simple. Now, I did change it a touch, but only in terms of the flavor of pudding I utilized for this sweet venture while increasing the cookie ratio as well. Hubby and I wanted a more pronounced mint flavor than what we believed would happen if we stuck with the original recipe, so I used Chocolate Mint Chip. Also, I did not melt chocolate to drizzle on top. The cookies we purchased were not the double stuffed, so just in case that made a big difference, I doubled the cookies. After tasting it, I'm sure I could cut that down and create a solid mint flavor, but I thought I should mention this change as well. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatEyes513

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Another slice of heaven and so light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very nice. I'm not very fond of Cool Whip, so I used whipped cream in my version. It turned out light, fluffy and delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. Very light and airy after a heavy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Easy recipe that kids to adults can enjoy. Great dessert on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States