Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used some other review recommendations and the results were okay; this recipe has potential. What was great: Using a different brownie recipe. What was not-so-great: Using peppermint extract (I could taste the alcohol using just 1 1/2 tsp.) Next time, I'll try the creme de menthe liqueur as written; and I'll make a slightly larger batch of ganache for the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were a big hit at a work pot-luck! Everyone kept asking for the recipe! The flavor was great, and they were easy and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I love mint and chocolate together. My MIL made these one christmas and I fell in love with them. I couldn't stop eating them. I searched for the recipe and found it here. These are SO good. I made brownies out of Trader Joe's truffle brownie mix and used Creme De Menthe. Outstanding and easy to make. My local liquor wharehouse had 2 kinds of Creme De Menthe, one was clear, the other tinted green. So I bought the green, of course. But for christmas I plan on buying a bottle of clear too and putting red food coloring in one frosting and using the green for the other. Only thing I would change is add more Creme de Menthe, as is it's very very subtle mint flavoring and all I could really taste was the butter. I prefer a more mint flavor, so I added more creme de menthe. Next time I will use less butter and more creme de menthe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was so good. My store didn't have creme de menthe so I went with Mint Baileys. It was creamy deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
These brownies are amazing!! To save some time, I used pillsbury family- size brownie mix. I also used an 8x8 in pan instead so that the brownies would be extra thick. The first time I made these I used salted butter, but would recommend un-salted butter instead because it gives the mint buttercream a rather salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Took to a potluck and they lasted minutes. If you have the time, these are SUPER tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Yummy. Everyone liked these. I would probably cut the batch in half next time only becuase it made so much. Very rich and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittylover25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
yummy, works well with gluten free mix also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Delicious, but alow time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My mom first made these almost 20 years ago and I have always loved them. I think it is the name that is confusing people - its not really a brownie recipe. I've always made them with mint extract and they turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriedust101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States