Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Yummy but next time will try a different recipe for the brownie base. The use of creme de menthe was awesome. I upped that to 3 tbsp plus another tbsp in the top chocolate icing. Also added green food colouring to the butter layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
O M G this is a phenomenal dessert! i URGE you to not buy prepared frosting & adding mint extract... making the real deal is easy ( i mean,youre already knee deep in fresh dessert mode so why stop now?) & worth it.. tip: i used mint extract & heavy whipping cream instead of the milk trick when making the mint frosting. yes, this will take a day (you need to fridge the minted brownies so they'll semi -harden) i made this xmas eve day (amongst my other cooking-- yes im crazy!) for xmas day dinner & my family LOVED IT... i felt like super star chef! i will cherish this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used boxed brownies....It was pretty good just wish the mint portion was a different icing because powdered sugar is way to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Lee Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and they came out wonderful! I tried a recipe from a coworker some years ago, but the brownie part didn't come our right for me. I have never had luck with brownies. But this recipe came out nice and moist and oh the creme de menthe! Thanks for this recipe; finally a brownie that works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I thought the brownies had a strange spongy texture and a weak chocolate taste. They were much different than a traditional brownie recipe. I liked the mint chocolate topping. They tasted much better when they were refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!if you like peppermint patties you will love this. I used my fave boxed brownie mix and took other reviewers ideas to use mint extract instead of creme de menthe and a couple of drops of green food color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Great recipe, tastes more like a cake than a brownie though, I'd also add more creme de menthe to increase the mint flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I don't know if this is fair or not but I took away a star because of the difficulty I had finding "creme de menthe liqueur". It was even for St Patty's day and no store in my town carried it. I ended up using mint extract and the flavor just didn't do it for me. The idea is 5 starts but the hassle and end result warrant 3 in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Mercy, these are incredible! I took others' advice and used a brownie mix (from Aldi's which is the best box mix I have ever tried) instead of going from scratch. I also went with 1 T peppermint extract and some green food coloring instead of the creme de menthe. Will try using 2 tsp. of extract the next time. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Disappointed, could hardly taste the mint & I added more creme de menthe even. I'll try again with even more & if no improvement I'll look for something else. This was easy & I gave to neighbors on both sides of us, but that was before I tasted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States