Chocolate Mint Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I made these last Christmas as the recipe was listed. I was a little skeptical when my dough was on the creamier side. But after letting it cool in the refrigerator for an hour it stiffened up. Still a little skeptical because I've never worked with dough this consistency. I expected them to be flat disks when they were done baking but I was wrong. They turned out beautifully. To my husbands surprise, these were amazing. All my friends and family loved them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Excellent cookies as is even tho I had my problems! First let me say that I am NOT a baker, and a novice cook at best. I followed this recipe to the T, so I thought. I used York peppermint patties as the "Chocolate mint wafer candies" but I didn't realize that one serving was 2 cookies. (Printed recipe reads 18 servings so I made 18 cookies! Didn't see the "original recipe yields 3 dozen" part on the website version!) Cooked 8-10 minutes, pulled them out of the oven, put the mint candy, cut in half, on top, pressed them into the cookie a little bit and waited for melt. Didn't melt so I checked the cookies and they were sooo not cooked enough. Put the cookies back in the oven with candies on top for another good 10 minutes and they cooked into a large, bakery style cookie with a thin mint chocolate topping oozing over the top! Some melted over onto the pan but that was a bonus! OH MY GAWD! Next time i will double the recipe and do it exactly the same way! SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
These are SO delicious!! They quickly became the family favorite and I had to made them again right after the holidays. I followed the recipe almost exactly--I couldn't find any of the Andes candy mints so I bought the Andes chips (in the baking section with the chocolate chips) and added about a cupful in the batter and then put them on the top of the cookies when they came out of the oven. They melted and I spread them around. These cookies are awesome! Highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These were a huge hit! They are delicious! If you had a problem with flat cookies it is because the dough wasn't cold enough. If you are in a hurry to bake them, roll the cookies, put them on a pan then put them in the freezer for 15 minutes or so they will get cold faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Superb recipe - great tasting and easy to make! I go all out and put a full Andes mint on top of each cookie. The chocolate melts down into all the cookie crevices creating perfect cookie goodness! For those who said the cookies were flat, the butter probably wasn't cold enough. Before rolling into balls, put the dough in the fridge for 15-30 minutes. The chilled dough allows it not to spread so quickly in the oven, resulting in a thicker cookie. Also, use a cookie scoop to ensure all the cookies are the same size and cook evenly for the same amount of time. These cookies are pretty but they taste even better. Perfect for a cookie exchange and just as good 2-3 days later as the first day (and I'm not really a chocolate cookie person!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have had this recipe for years and it is a family and friend favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
These were good cookies for the holiday. We liked the mint flavor added by the icing. Made exactly as directions stated. Soft and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was a hit with a kid crowd but not with me. I couldn't get past the poor quality green foiled mint chocolates used as a frosting. I guess that is my fault for not using a top quality chocolate. Four stars because the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Good cookie but I made the mistake of using what I had on hand, a peppermint kiss, not many takers for that. In fact I saw where most pulled off the candy and just ate the cookie. I would make these again just use what others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Husband couldn't get enough. I'm not a huge chocolate lover, but these were hard to resist! Definitely a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdburge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States