Chocolate Mint Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for my dad's birthday. The cheesecake part was a hit but the sour cream topping ended up being scraped off by most. Next time I'll just stick to a chocolate top layer. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe. I only changed one thing: I used chocolate graham crackers instead of wafer cookies for crust. I melted the chocolate along with 8 tablespoons of butter and blended it in with the crumbled graham crackers, and pressed it into a 10" springform. I followed the recipe exactly for the filling, but ended up with about 1/4 cup too much (even for a 10" pan!), which I discarded. I baked above a water bath. When it had cooled overnight, I made the glaze as the recipe called for as well as added about 1/8 cup of Bailey's Irish Cream and it gave the glaze a nice mild taste of liquor as well as slight coloring. Thank you Bonny for the wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
If you love the combination of mint and chocolate, this cheesecake is AWESOME! It is well worth the time and effort involved. My only suggestion is to use a 10-inch rather than a 9-inch pan, in order to fit the whole mixture. I made this recipe for a party, and had none left over, much to my chagrin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is the biggest cheesecake I've ever made! The recipe makes more than even a 10 inch pan can hold- and I even left the sour cream topping off because the pan was full to the brim. I baked it in a water bath that I had set in the oven while it preheated. The finished cake was rich, minty, and full of dark chocolate flavor. I did not put sugar in the crust, and used only 1.5 cups in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A very expensive cake to make, but I tried it for Christmas. The reviews inspired me. However, it turned out very dry. Maybe if the recipe gave directions for handling the cake after the baking was over it would have turned out better. (There were no directions for this step.) In previous cheesecakes, recipes directed you to leave in oven until cool or overnight with the door ajar.I did this twice, because it was baked twice. Thus, the result was so dry it split when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choirmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
wonderful cheesecake. As expected, it was quite rich and had a great subtle mint flavor. I used white creme de menthe in the sour cream topping for a little additional mint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdm227
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Thank you to whomever submitted this recipe! My friend said she wanted a cheesecake for her birthday and her favorite flavor was mint chocolate. This was one of the few recipes I could find and it turned out amazing! Everyone loved it and the cake (which was gi-normous!) was gone within an hour. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdm227

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Wow, I put this cake in a bath while cooking and left it to cool overnight in the oven (door closed) I just checked it this morning and it looks perfect. No cracks, it is the nicest looking cheesecake i've made. Can't wait to taste it tonight. To make it easier I used oreo cookie crumb base. I used choc. chips and mint chic. candy bar insted of bakers chocolate. On the top I sprinkled skor caramel bits. Also cut the recipie down by 25% and had just the right amount for a 10" pan. Will adjust rate after the taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wooly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This cheesecake tasted fabulous! It did make a lot more than a 9 inch spring form pan can hold and since i didn't have a 10 inch I used a 8 inch disposable pan in addition to the 9 inch spring form and made two cheesecakes. As amazingly good as it was i don't think i would make it again. It has a LOT of calories and uses some pretty pricey ingredients, and takes a day and a half to make. It was nice to try once though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this for a ladies Christmas luncheon and got rave reviews! I ran out of time and so I used some fudge icecream topping for the piping and it worked! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States