Chocolate Mint Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
If you love the combination of mint and chocolate, this cheesecake is AWESOME! It is well worth the time and effort involved. My only suggestion is to use a 10-inch rather than a 9-inch pan, in order to fit the whole mixture. I made this recipe for a party, and had none left over, much to my chagrin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this for a ladies Christmas luncheon and got rave reviews! I ran out of time and so I used some fudge icecream topping for the piping and it worked! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
wowwww that was the best cheesecake inthe world we made it for a birthday party everyone loved it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
wonderful cheesecake. As expected, it was quite rich and had a great subtle mint flavor. I used white creme de menthe in the sour cream topping for a little additional mint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe. I only changed one thing: I used chocolate graham crackers instead of wafer cookies for crust. I melted the chocolate along with 8 tablespoons of butter and blended it in with the crumbled graham crackers, and pressed it into a 10" springform. I followed the recipe exactly for the filling, but ended up with about 1/4 cup too much (even for a 10" pan!), which I discarded. I baked above a water bath. When it had cooled overnight, I made the glaze as the recipe called for as well as added about 1/8 cup of Bailey's Irish Cream and it gave the glaze a nice mild taste of liquor as well as slight coloring. Thank you Bonny for the wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdm227
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Thank you to whomever submitted this recipe! My friend said she wanted a cheesecake for her birthday and her favorite flavor was mint chocolate. This was one of the few recipes I could find and it turned out amazing! Everyone loved it and the cake (which was gi-normous!) was gone within an hour. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdm227

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Wow, I put this cake in a bath while cooking and left it to cool overnight in the oven (door closed) I just checked it this morning and it looks perfect. No cracks, it is the nicest looking cheesecake i've made. Can't wait to taste it tonight. To make it easier I used oreo cookie crumb base. I used choc. chips and mint chic. candy bar insted of bakers chocolate. On the top I sprinkled skor caramel bits. Also cut the recipie down by 25% and had just the right amount for a 10" pan. Will adjust rate after the taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wooly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is the biggest cheesecake I've ever made! The recipe makes more than even a 10 inch pan can hold- and I even left the sour cream topping off because the pan was full to the brim. I baked it in a water bath that I had set in the oven while it preheated. The finished cake was rich, minty, and full of dark chocolate flavor. I did not put sugar in the crust, and used only 1.5 cups in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This came out great and was requested from my mother-in-law to definitely make again for the holidays. Instead of chocolate wafer cookies, I used Thin mint GS cookies. I didn't add the sugar to the crust since the cookies have enough sugar in them as it is. I misread the recipe and didn't have enough of the bittersweet chocolate for the topping, so I melted chocolate chips instead. I'm not sure if this is why my topping was too soft for piping into a lattice design but the chocolate glaze on top (which was basically a panache was delicious. As recommended from others I omitted the sour cream topping step. I also used 1/4 teaspoon peppermint oil since I couldn't find the extract at the supermarket I went to. All in all an expensive dessert indeed but I think it tasted as good or if not better than the ones you buy for about $40-50 at those cheesecake specialty shops. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States