Chocolate Mint Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
wonderful cheesecake. As expected, it was quite rich and had a great subtle mint flavor. I used white creme de menthe in the sour cream topping for a little additional mint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
If you love the combination of mint and chocolate, this cheesecake is AWESOME! It is well worth the time and effort involved. My only suggestion is to use a 10-inch rather than a 9-inch pan, in order to fit the whole mixture. I made this recipe for a party, and had none left over, much to my chagrin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe. I only changed one thing: I used chocolate graham crackers instead of wafer cookies for crust. I melted the chocolate along with 8 tablespoons of butter and blended it in with the crumbled graham crackers, and pressed it into a 10" springform. I followed the recipe exactly for the filling, but ended up with about 1/4 cup too much (even for a 10" pan!), which I discarded. I baked above a water bath. When it had cooled overnight, I made the glaze as the recipe called for as well as added about 1/8 cup of Bailey's Irish Cream and it gave the glaze a nice mild taste of liquor as well as slight coloring. Thank you Bonny for the wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this for a ladies Christmas luncheon and got rave reviews! I ran out of time and so I used some fudge icecream topping for the piping and it worked! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdm227
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Thank you to whomever submitted this recipe! My friend said she wanted a cheesecake for her birthday and her favorite flavor was mint chocolate. This was one of the few recipes I could find and it turned out amazing! Everyone loved it and the cake (which was gi-normous!) was gone within an hour. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdm227

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
wowwww that was the best cheesecake inthe world we made it for a birthday party everyone loved it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Wow, I put this cake in a bath while cooking and left it to cool overnight in the oven (door closed) I just checked it this morning and it looks perfect. No cracks, it is the nicest looking cheesecake i've made. Can't wait to taste it tonight. To make it easier I used oreo cookie crumb base. I used choc. chips and mint chic. candy bar insted of bakers chocolate. On the top I sprinkled skor caramel bits. Also cut the recipie down by 25% and had just the right amount for a 10" pan. Will adjust rate after the taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wooly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is the biggest cheesecake I've ever made! The recipe makes more than even a 10 inch pan can hold- and I even left the sour cream topping off because the pan was full to the brim. I baked it in a water bath that I had set in the oven while it preheated. The finished cake was rich, minty, and full of dark chocolate flavor. I did not put sugar in the crust, and used only 1.5 cups in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This came out great and was requested from my mother-in-law to definitely make again for the holidays. Instead of chocolate wafer cookies, I used Thin mint GS cookies. I didn't add the sugar to the crust since the cookies have enough sugar in them as it is. I misread the recipe and didn't have enough of the bittersweet chocolate for the topping, so I melted chocolate chips instead. I'm not sure if this is why my topping was too soft for piping into a lattice design but the chocolate glaze on top (which was basically a panache was delicious. As recommended from others I omitted the sour cream topping step. I also used 1/4 teaspoon peppermint oil since I couldn't find the extract at the supermarket I went to. All in all an expensive dessert indeed but I think it tasted as good or if not better than the ones you buy for about $40-50 at those cheesecake specialty shops. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States