Chocolate Mint Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made this my first cheese cake. My family is spoiled with the sweetness of Jello brand cheese cake so they weren't as impressed with its bitter taste. I think it turned out fine. I learned to melt the choclate real slow or it will burn. I burned 2 batches before I figured it out. I'm surprised nobody has mentioned that adding the cocoa made it turn brown. The picture is a white cheesecake. Hey what about adding green coloring to the mix? I think adding the cocoa made it more bitter too. I'm going to leave it out next time. Because most people were on the fence about the sour cream I'm leaving it out too. Since the cake is choc I used white choc to decorate it. I found some YORK mint drops (like M&M) to put on top too. I'll have to eat 1 myself and the other goes to the party. By the way I baked this is a disposable tin pan because I don't have the ring, it barely cracked at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sludy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This came out great and was requested from my mother-in-law to definitely make again for the holidays. Instead of chocolate wafer cookies, I used Thin mint GS cookies. I didn't add the sugar to the crust since the cookies have enough sugar in them as it is. I misread the recipe and didn't have enough of the bittersweet chocolate for the topping, so I melted chocolate chips instead. I'm not sure if this is why my topping was too soft for piping into a lattice design but the chocolate glaze on top (which was basically a panache was delicious. As recommended from others I omitted the sour cream topping step. I also used 1/4 teaspoon peppermint oil since I couldn't find the extract at the supermarket I went to. All in all an expensive dessert indeed but I think it tasted as good or if not better than the ones you buy for about $40-50 at those cheesecake specialty shops. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisafromTexas
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is the biggest cheesecake I've ever made! The recipe makes more than even a 10 inch pan can hold- and I even left the sour cream topping off because the pan was full to the brim. I baked it in a water bath that I had set in the oven while it preheated. The finished cake was rich, minty, and full of dark chocolate flavor. I did not put sugar in the crust, and used only 1.5 cups in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Wow, I put this cake in a bath while cooking and left it to cool overnight in the oven (door closed) I just checked it this morning and it looks perfect. No cracks, it is the nicest looking cheesecake i've made. Can't wait to taste it tonight. To make it easier I used oreo cookie crumb base. I used choc. chips and mint chic. candy bar insted of bakers chocolate. On the top I sprinkled skor caramel bits. Also cut the recipie down by 25% and had just the right amount for a 10" pan. Will adjust rate after the taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wooly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
wowwww that was the best cheesecake inthe world we made it for a birthday party everyone loved it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A very expensive cake to make, but I tried it for Christmas. The reviews inspired me. However, it turned out very dry. Maybe if the recipe gave directions for handling the cake after the baking was over it would have turned out better. (There were no directions for this step.) In previous cheesecakes, recipes directed you to leave in oven until cool or overnight with the door ajar.I did this twice, because it was baked twice. Thus, the result was so dry it split when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choirmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdm227
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Thank you to whomever submitted this recipe! My friend said she wanted a cheesecake for her birthday and her favorite flavor was mint chocolate. This was one of the few recipes I could find and it turned out amazing! Everyone loved it and the cake (which was gi-normous!) was gone within an hour. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdm227

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This cheesecake tasted fabulous! It did make a lot more than a 9 inch spring form pan can hold and since i didn't have a 10 inch I used a 8 inch disposable pan in addition to the 9 inch spring form and made two cheesecakes. As amazingly good as it was i don't think i would make it again. It has a LOT of calories and uses some pretty pricey ingredients, and takes a day and a half to make. It was nice to try once though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for my dad's birthday. The cheesecake part was a hit but the sour cream topping ended up being scraped off by most. Next time I'll just stick to a chocolate top layer. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States