Chocolate Mint Cake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I really did like this but you need to grease and flour the pan. It's very difficult to get out otherwise. It does need to be refrigerated or it tastes weird, but my problem is that the cake is too hard and dry right out of the fridge. It's soft and moist if you don't refrigerate it, but then the rest of it tastes gross. Probably not something I'd try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made these last night. Very simple. Very good. I wanted to follow the recipe very badly...unfortunately I "sampled" the Creme de menthe. It was just strong enough that when I "sampled" the Mint layer I couldn't taste enough mint...so I added more. Tasting the completed effort today without any prior sampling was a surprise of the extra minty flavor. A little too much, but entirely my fault!! Next time I'll try not to cook like Julia Childs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Absolutely divine! I had a craving for a chocolate mint brownie dessert, and this recipe was JUST what I imagined. My family loved this and I will be making it again for sure! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was excellent. The cake was more brownie like but better. The only thing I thought (and I love chocolate) was there was to mucc. Next time I won't pour as much on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I can't believe the reviews here. This cake was was sickeningly sweet and a total disaster. I am irked as it took me a while to make this cake. A real disappointment !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am giving this 3 stars because it was alot of work for an "okay" turn out. The favor was great but the candy hardened so much that the cake couldn't shine through. I don't know that I would define these as "rich" maybe more towards heavy. Thanks for the recipe submitter, and I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Household*9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This turned out wonderfully! I took Necia's recommendations about the mint layer and added about four drops of green food coloring. I received lots of compliments about the dessert. It definitely has a nice (though not overwhelming) mint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This dessert tastes really good like a giant Jr. Mint and the consistency is like brownie/fudge. I made it for a party and everyone agreed it was VERY rich. My recommendation would be to cut it into bite sized pieces and serve like fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Exceptional cake! The actual cake is more like a brownie and is very moist and flavourful. I didn't have any creme de menthe so I went with 2 tbls of milk and 1/2 tsp of mint extract. Also, I only chilled the final product for about an hour before cutting them to avoid the chocolate glaze cracking. It cut clean and made a beautiful presentation. Everyone LOVED these and wanted me to make them again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very yummy and a very pretty dessert to take to a luncheon. I was afraid that I wasn't going to have time to get it done though since you have to let the cake cool completely before you put the mint and chocolate layers on it but I stuck it in the freezer for about 30-45 minutes and it worked perfectly. This almost resembles some sort of fudge. MAN IT WAS GOOOOOODDDDD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States