Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
First time I made this last weekend and was very disappointed. Didn't have enough filling and didn't set up like it should have. However the flavor was great. After reading other recipes, this is the only one that I found that didn't call for corn starch and cream of tartar. I did increase the egg whites for the merange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I was looking forward for trying this recipe for a party. It was my first time making meringue so I didn't know what to expect. I was skeptical at first,since i thought meringue had to be stiff, but I followed as the recipe said. It was soupy and not nearly enough to cover the whole pie, and after baking it didn't harden at all. It is in the fridge now so I am hoping it will set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
it wAS A FLOP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This is good and easy to make. Very good chocolatey flavor. It did take quite a while to get the filling to thicken up. I ended up turning the heat up some. I doubled the recipe and that was a good amount for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this today and the custard came out great , but the meringue was runny and there wasn't enought to cover the pie . I will make the custard again, but I will find and use another meringue recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stonewall, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It was my second pie & my first batch of meringue ever but I anticipated that I would need to add to the recipe by a 1/2 as I usually do with cakes & pies. It was exactly what I was looking for. I luv all recipes for hobby cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
For my first chocolate pie (and first review) this was a great pie. I did also tweak the recipe. If you double the recipe it is to much for a 9" deep pie crust. You can do 1 1/2 times the recipe and it is perfect. Also, I agree that you need more egg whites. 5 was perfect. Pie is delicious and recipe is easy. Thanks everyone for the comments to help my first pie be a GREAT hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
the meringue didn't work out so well but the chocolate pie itself was amazing, one of the best chocolate pies i've eve had. It was thick and very rich almost like fudge. I replaced the meringue with a whipped cream topping since mine fell after taking it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I make this recipe all the time...it's my favorite pie! The custard tastes darker at first than it really is. It gets much, much sweeter after it cools. Everyone who has tried it loves it. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States