Chocolate Meringue Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I give it three stars, daughter (11) gives it four. It's light, slightly creamy, has that little specks of chocolate like the description says. Didn't love it, but it frosted the cake. Tastes like diluted dark chocolate, which, of course, it basically is by adding semisweet chips. Makes enough for a generous layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
i used maybe a tablespoon of the butter and it turned out like I was hoping. reminds me of the frosting I used to make when i was a kid. i can't find the recipe now, but i used a double boiler, cream of tarter and egg whites. no butter. and so, although i didn't use the boiler or the c.o.t, it turned out fairly similar. i added grated chocolate instead of melting all that. worked great. just a nice frosting for a rich chocolate cake, not too sweet or buttery, which was what i was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
VERY Yummy! I would agree that the recipe calls for too much butter. I left a little out b/c of the reviews, but it's still a little too buttery. Maybe try adding 1 cup and then add more to taste. Still add the chocolate at the end. Enjoy. I'm saving this one to my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Very good flavor though my kids thought it too chocolatey (just their preference) so I will either use less chocolate next time or milk chocolate instead of semisweet. My only problem was with using the organic sugar I have- even though I added it very slowly and in small increments my icing was kind of gritty so I am going to try it today with powdered sugar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I haven't tried this recipe yet but I plan to. If you are having trouble with the butter separating, you need to keep beating it. The coldness of the butter determines how long you need to mix it for. If you are ever to make italian buttercream, you have to mix it for at least 10 minutes on high, during which it separates, and yes, does look like cottage cheese. Eventually it comes together. Next time try to not have your butter so cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
exactly what I was looking for. light and sweet with out the powder sugar after taste. I reduced the butter 1/2 c less per other review and it tasted great. You have to mix that butter until really light and flufy. It did turn into cottagecheese for a minute when I added the egg whites and butter together after a while of beating some more and adding the vanilla everything turn out fine. Thank you for posting great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Light fluffy and yummy! The chocolate flavor is way above the flavor of powdered cocoa. It is a bit buttery but I noticed after the icing sat a while I tasted the chocolate more. I will definitely be using this one again and again. I put it on Banana bars. A recipe I found on this site. Yummy! Who doesn't love banana's and chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Did not turn out at all. Ended up with what looked like cottage cheese. I beat it for 15 minutes and gave up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was excited to find this recipe because I wanted to use up some of the egg whites left over when I made a yellow cake but it really did not turn out right for me. It separated as I was mixing it and didn't ever get smooth. In fact it was separating more as I was mixing it so I gave up and mixed the chocolate in before I got it smooth because it seemed like it was just getting flatter the whole time. If someone can tell me what I did wrong maybe I'll bump up my rating ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This did not turn out good at all. I will not be making this ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States