Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are awesome!! And a great recipe for those who are looking for a gluten-free dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent. Used a smidge more tartar since had fresh eggs from my chicks (won't get stiff w/out tartar), 2 TBSP cocoa, 1c sugar, etc. Didn't need to beat for 5 minutes but beat till stiff. Cooked on parchment paper but still stuck---maybe wait till cool to try and take off next time. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Fantastic!!! I made 12 servings and my girlfriend and I couldn't help ourselves....All Gone!!! Changes: 2 tbsp Hershey's cocoa powder 1/4 c. Andes baking chips I'd describe the taste akin to eating a campfire s'more with the crisp outside giving way to soft fluffiness inside. The texture was like eating cotton candy in the way it melted on your tongue which was surprising when considering the way they look from the outside. Would like to know recommendations on how to get uniformity to each 'drop' for future bakings because the abstract shapes I got are not the most presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bryn's cookin daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Excellent. These are very tasty with just a touch of chocolate and little sugar. Keep getting rquests for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparrow
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
i just made these, they're delicious! this was my first adventure with a meringue of any kind. they are easy and very yummy. im watching what i eat and these make a great treat that isnt full of fat. as soon as this batch is gone i'll be making some more to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great cookie and very unique!! I made about 8 batches of these cookies for a cookie exchange and by the eighth batch i think i got them exactly right!! Definitely whip the meringue to STIFF peak stage (but not too dry). If the meringue is not stiff enough it will flatten out and won't hold its shape. Also, GREASE the cookie sheets really well and take them off immediately! Thanks for posting! Merry Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stnortham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. I can see how it would be so easy to modify the recipe for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe and very easy! My family loves these little treats. Just wish I had double ovens so I could make more at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe was great! Like the others, I made some changes. I used only 1/3 cups of sugar and two tablespoons of cocoa powder. I also omitted the chocolate chips since it sounds sweet enough without them. I didn't have any cream of tartar so I substituted with 1/4 tsp. of lemon juice. It worked perfectly fine. I recommend anyone who hasn't really made meringue or whipped eggs before: separate eggs when they're cold (it's easier), let them come to room temperature (around at least 30 mins, possibly more), and avoid using plastic bowls. Add the sugar slowly, too. It can take around 5min for the eggs, so be patient! The baking time took at least an hour for me too, but I suppose it's dependent on every one's oven. I found that it's easier when you make smaller cookies, the larger ones I made take a little longer to bake (smaller cookies - around an hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are just what I was looking for. I had these cookies as a kid and was excited to find a recipe. I used the same suggestions as the folks below and they turned out great. I piped them out of a baggie and made them more of a bite size cookie. Perfect for snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States