Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was my first time trying a meringue I followed aa few of the other suggestions only using half a cup of sugar and adding an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder. They were a hit with my children with just enought sweetness and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
They're pretty hard to make, especially for beginners. I've wasted many an eggs trying to make them. But, if you can make them, they're a unique and delicious cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
A quick tip to get those egg whites stiff: put your mixing bowl and mixer attachment in the refrigerator or freezer prior to beating the egg whites. Take your eggs straight from the fridge; this is one time when you don't want all your ingredients to be room temperature. I've made this recipe several times, as posted, and it always turns out great. I like to use mini chocolate chips, as they seem to float inside the cookies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very yummy! Thanks to all the reviewers with the great tips on beating the egg whites. I used my stand mixer and it was very quick and easy. I got closer to 30 cookies, and some of them were bigger than a teaspoon size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe and found it to be an unapologetic sugar bomb. This was much too sweet for me. If I make it again, I'll cut the sugar and cocoa in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These were yummy! I modified based on the suggestions of another reviewer. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, boubled the cocoa (I used Frys), and upped the chips to 1/2 cup. I added the cream of tartar and vanilla to the foamy eggy whites, and once I had soft peaks, I started slowly adding the sugar to a running mixer. I was worried when I lost some volume while folding in the cocoa and chips, but they still turned out great. I've been looking for a way to use up egg whites when I need a lot of yolks for home made ice cream. Most ice cream recipes call for 8 yolks, so next time, I will try doubling this recipe to use up 6/8 egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
These turned out great. I had used yolks only to make a cake, and started looking around for a good meringue cookie so that I wouldn't waste the whites. I let the whites sit at room temp for a while before starting. I let the mixer do the work at medium until I got soft peaks, and proceeded as written. I used a small disher to drop onto the cookie sheet - definitely more than a teaspoonful! :-) Baked for 30 minutes and got dry, crisp outsides with just a little chewiness in the center. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I too made these with Splenda. I used almost 2/3 of a cup and placed one chocolate chip on top of each cookie. I was afraid that mixing the chips in would deflate these delicious morsels. They baked to perfect crispness in 30 minutes and by using the parchment paper they didn't stick. In fact they almost slid off the paper when I took the pan out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
These cookies are DELISH and delectable! I love any dessert with meringue incorporated, so this was kind of like the holy grail or maybe manna from heaven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casscooper91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These are very light and airy--I didn't add the chocolate chips so there wasn't much "chew" factor as they melted in the mouth. Good flavor--I added a dash of cinnamon and a teaspoon of instant coffee along with a full teaspoon of vanilla, as well as reducing the sugar to 1/3 cup. Nice for a light, sweet taste of chocolate without a lot of calories or fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States