Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made one batch of these and they were flat as pancakes but that was totally my fault. They tasted good so I read a little tutorial on whipping egg whites and made a second batch that came out great. The first time I used cold egg whites, wasn't that careful about separating and started on high speed which I know now is all wrong. Thanks for a great recipe and a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This is good! I used splenda instead of sugar, omitted the chocolate chips and I have a treat that is good for diabetics and lowcarb! All Atkins dieters should try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.P.L.
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
After I'd read others' reviews, I used 2 Tbsp cocoa and only 1/2 cup sugar in my cookies; choc chips were omitted. Just the right sweetness and chocolatey-ness for me. On top of that, I didn't follow the instructions verbatim. I adapted instructions from other meringue cookie recipes to suit this recipe instead. First, beat in cream of tartar and vanilla when the egg whites become foamy; continue whipping till soft peaks form. When soft peaks form, gradually beat in sugar (a little at a time) to egg whites till they form stiff peaks and look glossy. I folded in cocoa lastly--don't overfold the mixture. Since this was my first attempt at making meringue, I was slightly worried. I wondered whether combining vanilla and cream of tartar with egg whites first will actually prevent the the egg whites from "growing" in volume. Separate the egg whites from the yolks right after the eggs are out of refrigerator. Then, wait to start baking when the egg whites get to room temperature. Also, make sure you use only grease-free metal or glass mixing bowl and beeaters for whipping egg whites. Finally, these cookies took longer to get done (for me), about 35~40 minutes; they're done when the tops of the cookies are kind of hard. I got about 36~40 of them with a teaspoonfuls for each. Overall, this is a wonderful choc meringue drop recipe--definitely a keeper! The best part is they're lower in calories than other cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.P.L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I doubled the cocoa in this recipe and it came out fine. I also substituted chopped pecans for the chocolate chips. Make sure they are completely cool before storing in an airtight container. The slightest bit of dampness will turn these to chocolate marshmallows. Delicious right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Great recipe. These turned out wonderfully and were very quick and easy. I did make a few changes to suit my personal taste. I also read the article concerning making meringue. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar and increased chocolate chips to 1/2. I baked them at 275 because my oven tends to run hot. I did have to "assist" the cookies off the cookie sheet. I expected this due to the sticky nature of meringue and found that it was no problem, but may try parchment paper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
MMMMMMMM!!!!! I'm not usually a meringue fan, but these are awesome!! Easy to!! I didn't change a thing. For those having trouble with the egg whites, maybe you're just not beating them long enough. It takes at least five minutes. I baked for the full 30 minutes. A must try. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
freakin' amazing!!! these babies whipped up in a jiffy are are sooooo yummy :) i added a tich more cocoa, and i didnt fold it in all too well for a marbled look, and i just left them peaked any which way, not like the pretty ones in the picture, but all wild and pointy like. crazy lookin' yummy bites! they're crunchy and chewy :) oh and i used mini mini choc chops. i think i'll try coconut bits next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIELEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These were awesome. I think they'd be just as good without the chocolate chips. I had to look up how to get your egg whites whipped into perfect peaks: Make sure your eggs are room temp and add a pinch of salt to the whites before beating. Start off mixing them at medium low speed and then halfway through add the cream of tartar. Next, increase the speed and mix to stiff peaks. Careful not to over mix or it will destabilize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Yum! These were really great meringues. Crispy outside with a chewy center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
my daughter calls these air cookies. We buy them in plastic tubs in the deli section of the grocery store. These are so much better!!! They melt in your mouth . They are very easy to make and pretty healthy too compared to most cookies our family eats. Thanks Madonna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States