Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These were awesome. I think they'd be just as good without the chocolate chips. I had to look up how to get your egg whites whipped into perfect peaks: Make sure your eggs are room temp and add a pinch of salt to the whites before beating. Start off mixing them at medium low speed and then halfway through add the cream of tartar. Next, increase the speed and mix to stiff peaks. Careful not to over mix or it will destabilize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
So good and very easy. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These cookies were great. I took the advice of others and doubled the cocoa and added 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips. Crispy outside and soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
These were fun to make and fun to eat. Had I made them with the amount of sugar called for, though, I would've given them 2 stars due to over-sweetness. Instead I used just 1/3 cup of sugar, and along with the chocolate chips, they were plenty sweet enough. Also, like others, I baked them for about 1 hour at 250 deg. I lined a cookie sheet with parchment paper (ungreased), and after a few minutes of cooling, they popped right off the parchment. So, this is a great recipe (halving the sugar, though!). Next time I'll leave out the cocoa, use almond extract and throw in some sliced toasted almonds and a little unsweetened coconut along with the choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Let the egg whites come to room temperature and lowered the sugar down to 1/2 c. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyleandali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These cookies are amazing, I make these in big batches and everyone loves them. I like spooning them on freestyle and they look really cool once their baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made these because I thought it was the same as an old recipe I used to make all the time but have since lost. Unfortunately, I found it isn't at all the same. The ingredients seem similar, but the end result is horrible. The cookies have a burnt sugar flavor, but besides that not much flavor at all. Additionally, the texture is terrible. I love merigue cookies, but these are chewey and hard and stick to your teeth something terrible. I'll go back to searching cookbooks for the old one I used to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Yum! I folded the choc. chips in with 2 Tbsps coco powder and a bit of cinnamon. Used only 1/2 cup sugar and would use less next time. Also chopped a few up with some nuts and sprinkled on top for a garnish. Baked at 300 for 35+ minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I was nervous about making these...meringue just seemed so fussy...but they're easy, really! I was so impressed with myself! I even goofed the first time and used too much sugar (3/4 cup). I used 3 oz. bittersweet baking chunks instead of the chips and processed the sugar in the food processor to make it "superfine". I took the advice of others and baked at 250. They went 50 minutes before I had to leave the house, so I turned off the oven then and let them sit in the cooling oven. I think that they're much more forgiving than you might think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
super wonderful airy delights. used almost double the cocoa and a touch of cinnamon as suggested by someone else here. these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States