Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great cookie and very unique!! I made about 8 batches of these cookies for a cookie exchange and by the eighth batch i think i got them exactly right!! Definitely whip the meringue to STIFF peak stage (but not too dry). If the meringue is not stiff enough it will flatten out and won't hold its shape. Also, GREASE the cookie sheets really well and take them off immediately! Thanks for posting! Merry Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stnortham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. I can see how it would be so easy to modify the recipe for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great recipe and very easy! My family loves these little treats. Just wish I had double ovens so I could make more at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe was great! Like the others, I made some changes. I used only 1/3 cups of sugar and two tablespoons of cocoa powder. I also omitted the chocolate chips since it sounds sweet enough without them. I didn't have any cream of tartar so I substituted with 1/4 tsp. of lemon juice. It worked perfectly fine. I recommend anyone who hasn't really made meringue or whipped eggs before: separate eggs when they're cold (it's easier), let them come to room temperature (around at least 30 mins, possibly more), and avoid using plastic bowls. Add the sugar slowly, too. It can take around 5min for the eggs, so be patient! The baking time took at least an hour for me too, but I suppose it's dependent on every one's oven. I found that it's easier when you make smaller cookies, the larger ones I made take a little longer to bake (smaller cookies - around an hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are just what I was looking for. I had these cookies as a kid and was excited to find a recipe. I used the same suggestions as the folks below and they turned out great. I piped them out of a baggie and made them more of a bite size cookie. Perfect for snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are wonderfully light and have a nice soft, not sticky chewy, center. Definately have to store in air tight container. I tried to bring some to work and just plastic wrapped a plate. They were a mess. Still tasted good though. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyBee27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweeterthanhoney
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Very easy and delicious recipe. Made it for the first time and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeterthanhoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Awesome cookies! I added a little bit of cinnamon, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Didn't turn out as hoped, but instead came out of the oven flat. I'm very disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These turned out fabulous. I only used 1/2 cup sugar as per some previous reviews. I also didn't used the cocoa powder, as we just wanted chocolate chip meringues. I baked these at 250 for 1 hour and then turned off the oven and left them for about another hour. They are crunchy on the outside, just a little chewy on the inside with that little hint of chocolate. And the best part - they're low in fat and calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States