Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I use this recipe a lot, but I use a frosting with marshmello creme. You should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kake, Alaska, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Oh dear - we really wanted to like this, but it just didn't work for us. I did use homemade mayo, but can't believe that would effect cake much. Light, yes - but quite dry and, well, tasteless. Tried drizzling some with chocolate, some with cherry brandy, some with a black cherry compote, some with whippd cream, and some with all 4 - still nada. Hubby will bring home ice cream tomorrow and will try again then as I don't believe in wasting food, but don't think will make again. Noting this was my first mayo cake, so perhaps it's simply something you need an aquired taste for...so so sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great recipe. I substitute 1c. of water with 1 cup of regular coffee at room temp. It brings out the chocolate and makes the cake taste homemade and old fashioned. I frost with Hrsheys Chocolate Frosting recip on the cocoa box. This is a great recipe when you have excess condiments that need to be used up, or no eggs and veg oil on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Wonderfully moist cake! The easiest to make ever. A one bowl sensation that took about 10 minutes to get into the oven. I did add 5 tablespoons of cocoa instead of 3, so the chocolate flavor was more intense. Very delicious. The frosting was way too sweet. I should have stopped at 3/4 cup confectioner's sugar for the frosting because it was really delicious at that point, but I continued to add the full amount just to give the recipe a fair try. Next time I will stop at 3/4 cup. Otherwise the flavor was fantastic. However, if you do decide to make it "full strength" prepare yourself for an instant sugar rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My mom use to make this cake all the time when I was a kid. Personally I never cared for it but my family does. I started making this for my son for his birthday when he was 4 years old. He's 29 now and no matter what he does for his birthday he expects a Mayonnaise Cake to be at mom's when he comes over to celebrate it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is like finding an old friend! I remember it as our family favorite growing up. I don't recall where my mom got the recipe -- it was supposed to have been invented by a fancy hotel in NY. After eating it, a patron asked for the recipe and the hotel sent it along with a sizeable bill. The patron started "sharing" it with everyone they knew to get even. I don't know if it's true but it makes a good story about a fantastic cake. We didn't use brown sugar frosting; usually chocolate fudge or chocolate with peanut butter. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My mom always made this for mine and my siblings birthdays. I have made this cake many times and always turns out great. We have always used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe but I am very disappointed in the taste. DH said it had an onion taste to it? I used Hellmann's mayo would that have made it taste funny? I've had Chocolate Mayonnaise cake before and loved it. I don't want to give it any stars but the site ask for a rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
After fixing my mistake from yesterday, I tried the muffin tray this time around - I found the following things - The batter was REALLY thick, I had to water it down a bit, I had the batter in the oven for 13 minutes or so and they turned out fine, although I didn't get smacked in the face with chocolate flavour like I was expecting even after putting more coco powder in. All in all though they turned out ok - I didn't make the frosting - maybe it would have turned out better if I had. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
very moist cake and easy to make...but I added an extra 2 spoons of cocoa to make it more chocolicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranadi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States