Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
i made cupcakes with this recipe. they baked up just perfect. better tasting than any store bought mix. thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Our teenage kids loved it! I added milk chocolate chips which made it super moist and deliciously rich. Definitely a hit in our house. And, they normally are not big sweet eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was a simple recipe that sounded good but I thought it lacked chocolate flavor. In addition, it has a tough exterior crust. This is not a tender cake nor flavorful. I would not bake this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I don't like chocolate cake but made this at the birthday boy's request... and LOVED it! Everyone raved at how moist and flavourful it was. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was pretty good. I would have liked to add more chocolate to the batter next time. I also stopped adding the water because the batter looked like it was getting to thin. I had about 1/4 cup left. Frosted it with white buttercream... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I love this cake!! The texture is what gets me the most, it's wonderful. This is not a rich chocolate cake with strong chocolate flavor, it's very mild. I followed the recipe exact, baked for the 40 mins. and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again, I do think that frosting this with a rich chocolate frosting will take away from the mildnes in this cake, compete too much with the flavor. I used Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting from the site and it really complimented the cake. Thanks for the recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made this for a teacher luncheon and the plate was licked clean. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was planning this cake for my husband's birthday, but boy, am I glad I tried it out before the big day. This cake was not flavorful at all--and way too little chocolate to call it a chocolate cake. My husband hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I have been baking this cake for my great nieces birthday for about five or six years it's her choice every year.On the second year the pan was a bit to big for a double batch and it came out like a brownie,the best brownies we ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My family really enjoys this cake. My wife is not able to have sugar, so I substitute 1 cup of Splenda(R) and 2/3 cup of honey for the sugar. I also use cocoa powder as the substitute for the melted chocolate. Works out great and my wife enjoys having a dessert she can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States