Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
i made cupcakes with this recipe. they baked up just perfect. better tasting than any store bought mix. thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Our teenage kids loved it! I added milk chocolate chips which made it super moist and deliciously rich. Definitely a hit in our house. And, they normally are not big sweet eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was a simple recipe that sounded good but I thought it lacked chocolate flavor. In addition, it has a tough exterior crust. This is not a tender cake nor flavorful. I would not bake this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I don't like chocolate cake but made this at the birthday boy's request... and LOVED it! Everyone raved at how moist and flavourful it was. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was pretty good. I would have liked to add more chocolate to the batter next time. I also stopped adding the water because the batter looked like it was getting to thin. I had about 1/4 cup left. Frosted it with white buttercream... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I love this cake!! The texture is what gets me the most, it's wonderful. This is not a rich chocolate cake with strong chocolate flavor, it's very mild. I followed the recipe exact, baked for the 40 mins. and it was perfect. I will definitely make this again, I do think that frosting this with a rich chocolate frosting will take away from the mildnes in this cake, compete too much with the flavor. I used Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting from the site and it really complimented the cake. Thanks for the recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made this for a teacher luncheon and the plate was licked clean. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was planning this cake for my husband's birthday, but boy, am I glad I tried it out before the big day. This cake was not flavorful at all--and way too little chocolate to call it a chocolate cake. My husband hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I have been baking this cake for my great nieces birthday for about five or six years it's her choice every year.On the second year the pan was a bit to big for a double batch and it came out like a brownie,the best brownies we ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My family really enjoys this cake. My wife is not able to have sugar, so I substitute 1 cup of Splenda(R) and 2/3 cup of honey for the sugar. I also use cocoa powder as the substitute for the melted chocolate. Works out great and my wife enjoys having a dessert she can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States