Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Very moist, wonderful cake. I used to make my grandmother's recipe for my dad's birthdays and now make this one for him - the family devours it. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerangedCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this cake for a friend's birthday because it was the recipe her mother used to make for her as a child. Everybody loved it! I added a little more cocoa just because I love the flavor of cocoa in a cake, and I might even add a touch of cinnamon next time when I make it. I used the "Perfectly Chocolate" icing recipe from the back of the Hershey's cocoa box and it complemented it perfectly and looked great on it. Definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My family often uses Miracle Whip instead of mayo. The Miracle Whip has a little bit sweeter taste. This is my favorite birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this for my dad's birthday, and it was amazing! very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We were worried this would taste like MAYO but it didn't at all even though the batter did. We used Whole Foods 365 Mayo(expeller pressed canola oil. However we only used 1 cup mayo instead of 1 and a half. We also added another tablespoon of cocoa and baked it in two 9" glass pie dishes for suggested time. It was moist but somewhat dense. Absolutely delicious with butter icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a good chocolate cake even though it wasn't as dense as the one my grandmother made. I,m still huntng recipes, but this deserves a 5 star rating. Very moist and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! This is the first mayo cake that I've ever made and I couldn't be happier with the way it turned out. I used coffee instead of water and made peanut butter frosting. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I found this recipe about forty years ago in a magazine and used it for many years. Lost it along with many of my treasured recipes when my home was taken in a tornado and was glad to have found it, my husband loves this cake, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I love this cake! My grandma used to make a mayonnaise cake, and this recipe is just what I was looking for. It tastes incredible with the Chocolate Frosting I recipe submitted by Tia the Baker. So dense, rich, and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
i lost this recipe a couple of years ago and was so happy to have found it my brother and my son both ask for this for their birthday cakes. it is so moist and tastes so good! thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States