Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
This was my first Mayo cake. I found it to be very rubbery and quite heavy. Not a typical chocolate cake Dorothy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2000
Quick and very easy. This cake is moist and has a lighter chocolate flavor. The taste is different yet hard to stop eating. You can't get enough (especially with ample amounts of chocolate frosting) yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
30 mins not enough. A little too much mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
It was very light and fluffy, almost like a store cake mix. My son has allergies and he can even have this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
i remember my grandmother making this cake about 15years ago. i had forgot all about the recipe and taste until i watched sweet dreams on foodtv. i decided to look it up and i tried it. it is delicious or the bomb as my children say.i thought i could never get my husband away from my poundcakes or cheesecakes but thanks to this recipe he now has another favorite.thanks for sending it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Good, moist cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I make this cake for all occasions and people always LOVE it, even my husband that isn't a big fan of chocolate cake. I think the big difference in this recipe is that it calls for Mayo and I have always used MIRACLE WHIP. There is a big difference between the 2 so next time you try this recipe try with Miracle whip instead(use the exact same amount as you would for mayo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
I substituted the mayonaise for low-fat vanilla yogurt...it made for a dense, moist cake...very light chocolate tast which I enjoyed..it would be great with a good quality fruit jampreserve layered into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This cake had a tight crumb but was airy, like something made from cake mix. The chocolate flavor was also light and creamy, but not bland. However, this cake isn't good enough to justify all the fat and calories. I'm going to stick with other cakes that have a comprable taste but less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
i don't usually make cakes, but i felt like a little dessert one night when i was overdue to go grocery shopping... didn't have much in the fridge, but i DID have mayo and JUST enough king arthur's traditional whole wheat flour to whip up a half batch o' this here cake (thank you serving changer tool). actually i didn't even have all the EXACT ingredients... but the cake turned out fluffy, tasty and super moist nonetheless. (didn't have all-purpose flour, baking soda, or cocoa powder, so i substituted in whole wheat flour, carob powder, and used baking powder all around) baked my half batch in two mini bread pans that i got from wholefoods (in a set of four) not everyone may need/want to "botch" the recipe as much as i did, but a healthy addition for all would definitely be using whole wheat flour; the cake's got chocolate in it, so the color won't be a dead give away like if it were white cake, and the robust wheaty flavor will also be masked by mr. chocolate. -- keep baking and get creative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States