Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Not so great. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very good. I needed something for my son who cannot have dairy products. This fit the bill. Now I just need to find a decent dairy-free frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
i had lost my original recipe and was lucky to find yours our family has always used miracle whip in place of mayo try it sometime it adds a little tang to it thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This a great moist cake! I divided by two to make one 9" round cake. Used 1 cup mayonnaise, 2/3 cup cocoa and 1 1/2 cup coffee+water mixture, it turned out heavenly! Everyone could not believe there was mayonnaise, not a single sign of sourness from the mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Looked good but maintained a "mayonaisse-y" taste even after baking. Even smothered with frosting it was not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very good cake - light and fluffy. I used fat free mayo and thought it came out quite nice. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breezy
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I added about a tablespoon extra of cocoa powder and just a dash of cinnamon and topped with the Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting recipe...one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
When I was young my Great Grand Mother used to make a chocolate mayonnaise cake that I couldn't get enough of. I read reviews about this recipe being too gooey. That is the way they are supposed to be. This was as close to my Grandmas as it gets. I fixed this about a week ago. Their are only two of us and my wife doesn't really like chocolate much. She had one piece and liked it. I finished it up this morning and I am contemplating baking another for Sunday and asking my grown kids over. I think everyone needs to try this. It is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butchman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Gummy was a good word that someone else described this as. Yummy, but mainly b/c I haven't had chocolate cake since my nursing daughter started having a reaction to dairy in my diet. Update: I'm not sure why, but these have a baking soda taste. Will have to try cutting that amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
my grandma used to make this cake for us, try putting on a mint frosting its great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by george911

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States