Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I can't believe how moist this cake is because of the mayo. My boyfriend and his mom loved it. I made buttercream frosting from this sight. Will make again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was SO good. I doubled the cocoa, and it came out wonderfully. It hit the spot, for sure. I make an easy powder sugar frosting to top it was and was surprised how well it worked since it would not have been my first choice as frosting. There is no way that I am not making this again! Your family recipe has become my family recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayanddust

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is easily THE BEST chocolate cake I have eaten thus far!!! It wayyyyy outdoes any mix cake, and as long as you are not an aficianado or a gourmet, this is the best you are going to get! Easy and uncomplicated, all-in-one-bowl YUMMY!! Thanks!!! Making batch #2! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by childoflite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stonewall, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Enjoyed this cake! I added pecans to the batter from my mother-in-laws trees and it was delicious with a dollop of fat-free whipped topping. It rose nicely....good recipe. No need for a boxed chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
First time trying out this recipe and with the changes annie111 suggested, my cake come out really soft and fluffy. Tasted good too and no one could even tell there was mayo in there. It was just a teeny weeny bit dry and yes it was just a weee bit crumbly too but it was good chocolate cake. Two thumbs up for a chocolate cake recipe I can use when lacking eggs and butter :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This makes a wonderful moist cake, tastes like a chocolate bar! I lost my copy of a similar recipe, which calls for 2 tablespoons of grape jelly (don't know why!)so thanks for this one. My daughter has been nagging for a mayo cake, so this is the recipe she will get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I add 1/3 cup more cocoa.Plus I make carmel iceing to put on the cake.This was a family thing when I was a child.very,very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Not exactly like my grandmothers used to be ( was kind of a cross between and cake mix and mayo cake) but this did bring back memories, thanks for sharing. I did use miracle whip instead of mayo because that's how my grandmother always made hers, followed the rest exactly but cooked in 9x13 pan for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Edible. I reduced the mayo to 1 cup as recommended by others (to avoid gumminess), used extra dark cocoa powder, and a mix of cake flour and white wheat flour. Used Hellman's regular mayonnaise. (Would be good if all future reviewers would include type of mayo used, since they do vary widely.) Results: crumbly (but moist) cake with a somewhat... odd flavor. Definitely not the best tasting cake I've ever had. Perhaps the white wheat flour didn't go well with the mayo... that's all I can figure. I'm currently soaking the cake in a rum syrup to try to improve the flavor. Oh, also added a few chocolate chips, which really seems to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States