Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I loved mayo cake as a little kid and so glad I have found another great recipe for it. I did make a few slight changes to make it my own. I added a bit extra cocoa, and only used about 1 1/4 cups mayo. Instead of water I used coffee. I also added my own spin by mixing about 1/4 cup peanut butter with coffee(enough to make peanut butter the consistency of a batter) and then swirled that throughout the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara J Griffin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I was very fond of this cake, but my hubby, who doesn't like mayo, said it tasted too much like mayo. It seemed a tad greasy, too. But definitely a tasty cake. Next time, I may do some experimenting and drop the amount of mayo a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Very moist, wonderful cake. I used to make my grandmother's recipe for my dad's birthdays and now make this one for him - the family devours it. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerangedCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this cake for a friend's birthday because it was the recipe her mother used to make for her as a child. Everybody loved it! I added a little more cocoa just because I love the flavor of cocoa in a cake, and I might even add a touch of cinnamon next time when I make it. I used the "Perfectly Chocolate" icing recipe from the back of the Hershey's cocoa box and it complemented it perfectly and looked great on it. Definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My family often uses Miracle Whip instead of mayo. The Miracle Whip has a little bit sweeter taste. This is my favorite birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this for my dad's birthday, and it was amazing! very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We were worried this would taste like MAYO but it didn't at all even though the batter did. We used Whole Foods 365 Mayo(expeller pressed canola oil. However we only used 1 cup mayo instead of 1 and a half. We also added another tablespoon of cocoa and baked it in two 9" glass pie dishes for suggested time. It was moist but somewhat dense. Absolutely delicious with butter icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a good chocolate cake even though it wasn't as dense as the one my grandmother made. I,m still huntng recipes, but this deserves a 5 star rating. Very moist and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! This is the first mayo cake that I've ever made and I couldn't be happier with the way it turned out. I used coffee instead of water and made peanut butter frosting. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I found this recipe about forty years ago in a magazine and used it for many years. Lost it along with many of my treasured recipes when my home was taken in a tornado and was glad to have found it, my husband loves this cake, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States