Chocolate-Mascarpone Phyllo Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Don't know if I should even rate this recipe, as I changed so many things. Used cream cheese instead of mascarpone, brown sugar instead of honey, coconut instead of nuts and only 1 heaping teaspoon instead of what the recipe called for. With this mix, I had almost no leakage and I did love the flavor of this. Lovely, light and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious! I folded in triangles like folding a flag - no issues with filling leaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
What a mess! I followed the directions exactly, and still had all my filling leak out all over my cookie sheet! The taste was good, but the triangles were not a good idea. If I try this again I think I will make the phyllo into little cups (cupcake tin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loganton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was one of the best-tasting dessert disasters I have ever made! I used puff pastry instead of philo dough, and I replaced the pecans with almonds. The puff pastry did not hold together and the filling ended up all over the cookie sheet and some burning on the bottom of my oven. Once it cooled, we scraped the filling up and put it on top of the pastry. Mmmm mmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I did make this recipe with some diced mangos and pecans with a light syrup. It was messy but the taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
i have deep fried these wraps as phyillo pastry taste better fried and dust them with icing sugar when ready...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
KEY to avoiding leaking-- cut your phyllo into strips and wrap around a spoon of filling in a triangle shape just like folding a flag-- then you will have many more layers of phyllo to contain the filling, and not so much of a seam. (I wonder if the author intended this? but not very clear from the instructions..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I live in Europe (have for 15 years) in a country next door to Italy where they use mascarpone cheese and phyllo dough all the time. Maybe I can help everyone with the leakages problem. I have never seen anyone try and make separate triangles or squares with phyllo dough. It is always used in a pan and then cut later. Even though I haven't tried this recipe yet, when I do, I will layer the bottom of a pan (15x11" or 9x13") with 3-4 sheets of phyllo (brushing the butter in between each layer). Then spread the filling over the layers and finishing with 3-4 more sheets of phyllo brushing the butter on the top, as well. The baking time will probably vary. Once it's baked, let it cool completely then cut in squares or, as they like to do here, cut diagonally to the right and then the left making diamond shapes. Hopefully, this will work. If anyone tries this before I do, let me know how it works. Hope this help! I finally tried this recipe and made it the way I suggested above (keeping the filling exactly as written). It turned out just fine as far as the consistency and everything holding together. But next time I will NOT add honey, but will, instead, add brown sugar and cinnamon. One other thing, make sure you beat the mascarpone REALLY well so that it's nice and fluffy. That will make the consistency much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Despite reading all the reviews and ensuring that the mascarpone filling I made was a very thick paste, the filling spilt out everywhere within the first 10 minutes of cooking. I think the oven temperature is too high as well as after 15 minutes my pastry was almost at a burnt stage. I threw everything out which was a very costly exercise, given the price of mascarpone. I won't be trying this out again, I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was great!! Next time, I'd serve the phyllo dough with some of the mascarpone-chocolate mix and some mascarpone with a little sugar and vanilla mixed in as a little break from the delicious, rich "chocolatey-ness" of the recipe. Mine weren't bitter at all and they didn't leak very much. Yummm!!! The trick is to make the chocolate mix pretty thick, like a paste. Then it really shouldn't leak too badly. If you need to add more sweetening, add confectioner's sugar and you should be all set! Serve with a drizzle of dark chocolate syrup and powdered sugar. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States