Chocolate Marvel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
i am not sure if i did something wrong, but this cake did not taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
VERY disappointed in this recipe. I made it for my chocolate loving sister... now i'm embarrassed to serve it to her. I even added taste to this cake using half and half I (felt odd about no butter) and three whole eggs instead of egg white. and it was still tasteless!! the frosting was tasty though. the only saving grace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The cake came out super moist. In fact a little too moist for my taste. I may try to make some adjustments next time I make it. Over all good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I was extremely skeptical about this recipe and the cake itself right up until the moment I tasted it -- It's absolutely delicious and the best "from scratch" cake I've made to date. I used black raspberry jam instead of the baby food and I didn't really taste it -- I think that ingredient is more for consistency so feel free to play around with it if you don't have exactly what you need! Also, make sure the cake is completely cool before frosting it. This frosting sets very quickly so don't try to sweep back over it a bunch of times! Now that I've tried this recipe, it's definitely one to keep -- I'll be making this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Wow - I, too, needed a good recipe to try baking a chocolate cake from scratch for the first time, and this one was a hit with everyone. It is VERY rich and heavy, but small slices are excellent. I didn't have the layer pans, so I made this cake in a bundt pan, which worked fine. A single batch of the icing was plenty enough for the bundt version. I also skipped the added salt and didn't miss it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Your past reviewers are correct. This cake is incredibly moist(prunes freaked me out a little) and amazingly delicious. I used 2% milk instead of skim, and used butter for the icing rather than margarine. Be sure your coffee is nice and strong which really lends itself to the mocha taste. I did double the icing recipe as previously suggested...had leftover icing, but WHO is complaining? This recipe certainly goes into my repertoire...oh yeah, definitely five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this exactly how it was written...the only thing different I did was double the frosting because we are big frosting people! This cake was amazing...so moist and rich! We loved it and I will make it again and again!!! Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Gallagher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I was happy to find a chocolate cake recipe that didn't come from a mix. This recipe, however, barely rose when I baked it. I may try again using more baking powder and soda, and hopefully I'll get a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aproncity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had. I took the advice from a few of the previous postings and doubled the frosting. I'm really happy I did, it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This cake was AWESOME! I didn't have any baby food so I used 3 oz of home made sour cherry jelly and one oz of strawberry rhubarb jam instead. I also used 2 whole eggs instead of 4 egg whites and 2% milk. After I iced the cake I pressed some chopped walnuts all around the sides of the cake. Deeeelish! I'll be using this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States