Chocolate Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Easy and yummy! I didn't have any unsweetened chocolate, so I did the 3 tbsp. of cocoa + 1 tbsp. of oil = 1 ounce of unsweetened chocolate method. I used marshmallow fluff and 2% milk instead. It was delicious on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was very good and got compliments, however I don't think it should be beaten. Instead, I folded the ingredients together because I didn't want to lose any of the fluffiness. It turned out great that way. Also, I didn't add much liquid (maybe a tablespoon) because I was afraid it would be too runny, and mine turned out thick and creamy. Thanks for a frosting recipe that is something new and different. :) (**as a side-note, the reviewer who suggested that maybe 3/4 cup was a typo and that one should use 3 to 4 cups of powdered sugar is incorrect. If you use that much sugar, you will definitely get a grainy texture. I only used 1/2 cup and the texture was great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kater1212
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
i needed a quick frosting and it HAD to have marshmallow cream in it (so my husband said) and this recipe was perfect. I didnt have any half and half, so i used 2% milk. I made 24 chocolate cupcakes and filled them with a marshmallow cream recipe and topped them with this chocolate marshmallow frosting. They taste wonderful. They are for a halloween party. thanks for a great recipe....also, i added maybe another 1/4 cup powdered sugar to make it a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kater1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Probably the best frosting I have ever made or even had!! Soooo delicious. I reccomend this to anyone making a chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
As written, the recipe calls for way too much milk. I had to use 1 cup of powdered sugar to get any volume back in the runny frosting. It just oozed off the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This frosting is pretty good. I'm glad I always try the recipes instead of taking to heart what others say because I followed the recipe and my frosting came out very fluffy. It is the consistency of the marshmallow fluff, so I doubt that it will be stiff enough as written to pipe with. It pretty much takes on the flavor of the chocolate that's used, with a hint of marshmallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 31Mommy.of.4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was so good! I only had 2% milk and that worked wonderful, but I did not need as much as what was called. This is a keeper for me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was a really tasty frosting. Very light and whipped like, almost close to jar frosting in my opinion. It nearly squirted out of my piping bag to fast and nearly had it everywhere. But I would increase the amount of confectioner's sugar next time for a really thick or stiff frosting and/or use heavy whipping cream in place of 1/2 & 1/2. Not spreadable very well for a large layered cake, But for a little bit of frosting on a cup cake or cookie...very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I used 1/2 cup of peanut butter instead of the chocolate and omitted the shortening. It was a perfect dip for apple slices!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I found this frosting to be more like a ganache. I was not fluffy and ran off my cake, and puddled around the base. Maybe I did not beat it long enough, I would have beat it longer but I dropped the mixer on the floor and it refused to function again. I do believe the 3/4 cup of conf. sugar is a typo. I used 3 to 4 cups of confectioner's sugar. It had a tiny bit of grittiness, I found the texture to be off putting. Oh well I will try it again and beat the out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Fessenden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States