Chocolate Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Fantastic. I added a little bit of Raspberry extract. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Loved this! I went a little overboard this weekend and made two birthday cakes for my mother-in-law, using this frosting for a chocolate cake. I have been wanting to try a marshmallow frosting for a long time! It was very yummy. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, but the full 1/4 cup of cream. I had "plain" shortening as opposed to butter flavored, but it still tasted great. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My son loves marshmallow and he loves chocolate, so I made this to top his triple chocolate cake....wow, it was amazing!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used less milk & it was still runny. Didn't taste bad, but it didn't taste good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie94

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I had to pipe up and say that this recipe works perfectly fine exactly as written. I had my doubts, particularly because of other reviewers' comments. I didn't give it 5 stars because I really don't care for marshmallows, and this definitely still tastes like marshmallow when it's done - just a rich chocolate marshmallow instead of a regular one. It used up my marshmallow creme, though, and that's what I was aiming for, so I was pleased. I don't think it would frost a layer cake. I frosted a 9x13 only on the top, and had very little extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
As written, the recipe calls for way too much milk. I had to use 1 cup of powdered sugar to get any volume back in the runny frosting. It just oozed off the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was very good and got compliments, however I don't think it should be beaten. Instead, I folded the ingredients together because I didn't want to lose any of the fluffiness. It turned out great that way. Also, I didn't add much liquid (maybe a tablespoon) because I was afraid it would be too runny, and mine turned out thick and creamy. Thanks for a frosting recipe that is something new and different. :) (**as a side-note, the reviewer who suggested that maybe 3/4 cup was a typo and that one should use 3 to 4 cups of powdered sugar is incorrect. If you use that much sugar, you will definitely get a grainy texture. I only used 1/2 cup and the texture was great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I really like this frosting. Make sure you gradually add the liquids if you want the frosting to have a shape. My frosting spread and didn't retain the shape I had piped on. The taste and texture is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is yummy - but I made some modifications. I used 3/4 stick of real butter and 3/4 c. of cocoa powder. It is more like a ganache texture - do not try to pipe with this frosting. I topped cream filled chocolate cupcakes with this decadent topping and they taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Just extremely delicious!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricanlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States