Chocolate Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Fantastic. I added a little bit of Raspberry extract. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Loved this! I went a little overboard this weekend and made two birthday cakes for my mother-in-law, using this frosting for a chocolate cake. I have been wanting to try a marshmallow frosting for a long time! It was very yummy. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, but the full 1/4 cup of cream. I had "plain" shortening as opposed to butter flavored, but it still tasted great. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My son loves marshmallow and he loves chocolate, so I made this to top his triple chocolate cake....wow, it was amazing!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used less milk & it was still runny. Didn't taste bad, but it didn't taste good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie94

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I had to pipe up and say that this recipe works perfectly fine exactly as written. I had my doubts, particularly because of other reviewers' comments. I didn't give it 5 stars because I really don't care for marshmallows, and this definitely still tastes like marshmallow when it's done - just a rich chocolate marshmallow instead of a regular one. It used up my marshmallow creme, though, and that's what I was aiming for, so I was pleased. I don't think it would frost a layer cake. I frosted a 9x13 only on the top, and had very little extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
As written, the recipe calls for way too much milk. I had to use 1 cup of powdered sugar to get any volume back in the runny frosting. It just oozed off the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was very good and got compliments, however I don't think it should be beaten. Instead, I folded the ingredients together because I didn't want to lose any of the fluffiness. It turned out great that way. Also, I didn't add much liquid (maybe a tablespoon) because I was afraid it would be too runny, and mine turned out thick and creamy. Thanks for a frosting recipe that is something new and different. :) (**as a side-note, the reviewer who suggested that maybe 3/4 cup was a typo and that one should use 3 to 4 cups of powdered sugar is incorrect. If you use that much sugar, you will definitely get a grainy texture. I only used 1/2 cup and the texture was great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I really like this frosting. Make sure you gradually add the liquids if you want the frosting to have a shape. My frosting spread and didn't retain the shape I had piped on. The taste and texture is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is yummy - but I made some modifications. I used 3/4 stick of real butter and 3/4 c. of cocoa powder. It is more like a ganache texture - do not try to pipe with this frosting. I topped cream filled chocolate cupcakes with this decadent topping and they taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Just extremely delicious!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricanlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States