Chocolate Madeleines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made madeleines for the first time today using this recipe. I was so excited but just wasn't impressed at all. They were kind of dry and cakey and not dense and buttery like I was hoping for. They also aren't very sweet at all, so if you make these, I highly recommend you dip them in white chocolate or dust with a lot of powdered sugar. Hate to give a recipe 2 stars, but just wasn't impressed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyfever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very good! I also thought it might need more flour...but no. Agree about the shorter cooking time. Nine minutes max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great recipe - I added orange essence - worked well. A note about the baking time - its too long - make it 10 minutes and they are just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very nice petite cakes! My girlfriend and I love these and i decided to try this recipe for my first attempt. However, I think I added too much batter to the molds because the baked over the edges. They taste awesome, but i think i need to restrain more when filling the molds. Ooops...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wandering Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
these are great! they are not too sweet but the powdered sugar on top adds the right amount of sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
These came out so cute and shiny. They looked great with a bunch of different flavors to make "day at the beach" madeleines. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
So Good!! The bake time, however should be lowered to about 9 minutes to avoid a dry cake. Overall, this recipe was just what i was looking for (and the batter was delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made these for my French manfriend and he absolutely loves them. He's constantly asking me for them now. These have a dark chocolate flavor - not milk chocolate, so it's true that they are not too sweet. They are best on their own coming right out of the oven. A day or two later, they taste great dunked in coffee. These have become an instant staple in my house. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I made a small batch of these today just to try them. They were very yummy, not too sweet or too chocolately. I expected them to be a light crunchy cookie, but they were actually quite spongy. Hard to describe, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANND86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I don't know if my madeleine tray is smaller that those used in the US, but I actually got 30 out of the mix and had to throw a bit of the batter away!!! I also found them to be a little on the bittersweet side which is fine by me, but some people do prefer their chocolate goodies to be sweet rather than bitter. Mine turned out a little bit too much like mini muffins as well. I'm not sure whether that's because I over mixed the ingredients, although I did fold the dry ingredients in and only just until they were all blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States