Chocolate Macaroons I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
So easy so delicious!!! Incredibly sweet - I should have used unsweetened coconut. Hershey chipits made the chocolate flavour amazing. I made them too big so came out like cookies but still delicious -a perfect gluten-free cookie alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Awesome recipe! I left out the walnuts, my family is not a big fan of nuts, and instead I added a little bit more coconut, and they were really yummy! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I would have given these four and a half if I could, they are really good, nice and sweet and chewy but mine spread a lot which took away from the chewiness. I will definitely be making them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I've never made anything much like this, but they turned out great. They weren't all that great to look at (perhaps I could've taken some time to make them a bit more uniform in size and shape), but the taste was very nice. They are a bit delicate, though. I made the recipe exactly as written, and shared these at a meeting, and several people liked them. Worth recommending!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
They were excellent, we didnt have enough cocunut so we used 1 c coconut and 1/2 c oatmeal and they taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These are fantastic! So simple but the result is delicious. As for the people complaining of a runny batter, I'm guessing the egg whites weren't whipped enough. After adding the sugar they should get glossy and white, but you still have to whip them more. When you pull your beater up and you see the whites standing up on their own, they're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Next time I'll use unsweetened coconut, 1 1/4 cups of choc chips (maybe even dark choc) and about 1/3 cup of sugar. I used a teaspoon to scoop and another teaspoon to drop onto pan so no mess. To get your egg whites to peak, use a cold and super clean metal mixing bowl. I put my bowl and beaters in the fridge to chill before using. The bowl cannot have any oil reside on it otherwise it will affect the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Turned out delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and they came out very gooey in the middle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe! Certainly not the prettiest cookies in the world but they sure are tasty! I used 4 oz unsweetened bakers chocolate instead of chocolate chips and 1/4 cup more sugar. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is the first Macaroon recipe I've ever tried and I was very pleased with the results. Since I had SWEETENED coconut, I used only 1/4 c of sugar as per a previous review, and I used only 1 c of semisweet chocolate chips. The macaroons baked up "tall", not flat which is what I was worried about esp after seeing the consistency in the mixing bowl. These macaroons came out perfect :) For half the batch, I sprinkled the tops with extra coconut before baking, which gave it that "finished" look. Next time, I will try omitting the chocolate altogether so the coconut flavour can really shine - hmm, maybe I use coconut extract instead of vanilla. We'll see :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States