Chocolate Macaroons I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I think these are pretty close to ones my cousin usually makes. The flavour was great (albeit very sweet, even with semisweet chocolate chips and unsweetened coconut). I substituted large flake oats for the walnuts (some family members just don't like nuts). Like others, I had a really hard time getting my egg whites and sugar to peak - any suggestions? I gave up and went with what I had, which was fine. I ended up getting about 20 out of the recipe, and found that I had made my quite large as well....I will try and drop them much smaller next time. The dropping process itself - so messy - they didn't really "drop" - not without a lot of assistance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
these are great! i baked them on parchment paper so they didn't stick. if you don't feel like melting the chocolate, they're just as good if you use mini chocolate chips and just fold them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Really good. I did not have walnuts, so I used almonds. They still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
by far the best it was just as great as when i was a kid .i had the same privlage to make these for my kids the way my grandmother did it .i miss her very much and this recipe was a perfect way to enjoy the memories we have of her .to all of those who take the time to share ur recipes please continue because it's not just food to some people . thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
i used unsweetened cocunut, they are overly sweet. still easy and fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Not your typical macaroon. Very chewy and not at all cake like. I used milk chocolate because that was what I had, it made them too sweet. Next time I will use semisweet. I also put the cookie sheet in the refrigerator after baking, a must to help them keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These are very interesting little cookies. I took advice from the other reviewers and put them in the freezer as soon as i took them out of the oven. I also put the left over raw mixture in the fridge as the cookies baked. This made dropping with a spoon very easy, not messy. My sister described them as "little Almond Joy cookies". Very tasty! If you are looking for variety in your cookies, definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I had a hard time getting my egg whites to peak. Also, I wanted mine to taste like an Almond Joy, so I put them in a muffin pan and when they were done cooking topped with an almond M&M. They never really cooked through the center, only on the edges. Not my favorite sweet treat, but okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I have to admit, I don't think I've made many recipes on here and followed them to a T, but I did this one. This was sooo chewy and delicious! Words of advice, don't omit the walnuts, bake for the recommended amount of time (otherwise they're too soft in the middle), and fluff fluff fluff those egg whites!!!! I can't stress that enough! Happy easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe! I reduced the recipe to make 12 macaroons instead of the original 36. Easy! Easy! Easy! I was a bit concerned because after 10 mins they were still gooey and seemed uncooked so i turned off the oven and let them sit another 2-3 minutes. I then transfered them to the fridge. They harden a bit which is good so they dont fall apart. Delicious! Much more chocolatey than coconuty...the coconut is really more for consistency. thanks for the recipe! They should be a hit at my seder tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States