Chocolate Macaroon Tunnel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I was disappointed with this cake. It wasn't that moist even after adding extra water to the batter and my family and I decided the chocolate cake just wasn't anything special worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Was just ok.. Definately was not the bundt cake I remembered...The filling was not the same and sank to the bottom. Wish I had read the reviews first on this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made the cake according to directions, but changed the filling according to another reviewer (coconut, sweetened condensed milk, and vanilla) and I also covered the filling with batter. I am very pleased with the outcome - not exactly like the old Pillsbury mix, but close enough for me. Also, I didn't feel it needed any glaze or icing - plenty moist and the filling makes it plenty sweet. Thanks - I'll be making this a lot - hubby loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Good idea and it looked like it would taste good....but it did not! We couldn't even finish the piece that we took. I sent the rest over to my sisters family who's electricity is down because of the snow....I'm hoping they'll eat it in desperation! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've been looking for the Pillsbury duplicate myself for years too! Anyone have an idea? I gave this three stars only because I haven't tried the recipe yet, but am searching for the Pillsbury-like coconut filled chocolate bundt cake recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloudcroft, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This Cake was scrumptious!! It was so moist and I used the chocolate frosting. My family loved it!! Definitely a five star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
As is, the recipe is not optimal. I like the recommendations - double coconut mix. Also, only add 1/2 batter to the pan then add coconut then cover with remaining batter so tunnel is in middle instead of bottom of cake. Lastly, I drizzled melted chocolate chips instead of the sugar glaze to add a more chocolately taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was disappointed. The cake isn't moist and isn't a flavor that I was expecting. Not sure that I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I think I have a better filling for this cake it's like the coconut filling in almond joy and mounds candy bars. It's so easy to make and it tastes great! It has a great texture and bakes up great in a bundt cake. Mix together 3 cups of Bakers sweetened coconut, a can of sweetened condensed milk and a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Cake was excellent, but alas, no "tunnel!" The coconut sits on the cake plate. I also will try pouring some batter in the pan, topping with coconut mixture, then adding the rest of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States