Chocolate Macaroon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This had a great flavor but too much coconut. I did it twice with half the coconut and it came out much better. It was fun to make. Happy Fourth of July everyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
It's really good! When my friends come over I always make it. They love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acornrulez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liz
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent......for those that said it was too dry.....maybe you baked it too long??? Fudgey deliciousness!!! oh and as for the glaze.....melt chocolate chips and thin with milk.....perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was a good recipie. Very tasty--everyone liked it a lot. The only thing is that it was a bit dry. I dont know if it is my oven or the altitude difference. I live in Southwestern BC. Next time I would bake it for only 40-45 min and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLOBABY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I made this for a dinner party and I have to say that I wasn't that impressed with the taste. Presentation was very nice, but the cake was actually a little bland. If you like a sweet cake, I don't think this is for you. It needs something, although I'm not sure what. I did drizzled the chocolate glaze over the cake and when that dried I drizzled warm vanilla icing over it. The icing had a marbled look. Overall, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Great cake! Made it for a birthday and everyone loved it. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
thisrecipe was good but I wouldn't make it again. My family thought it was just okay and they want something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Holy Moly was this YUMMY! My husband and I fought over who would get the last piece! It was moist, chocolatey, delicious and just the recipe I was looking for. It was a bit time consuming to make, but well worth the effort. Thanks for such a yummy recipe - definitely a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
My mother started making it for us as a special treat birthday cake every year. My wife makes it for me once a year and for our kid's birthdays. We all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Oh, wow. Absolutely amazing. For the cake the only change I made was substituting 1/4 cup potato starch for 1/4 cup of the flour--it gives it a denser, moister texture. Used unsweetened coconut in the filling mixture, and put all the coconut in on top of the first half of the chocolate batter, then added the rest of the chocolate batter, so it gives it a tunnel-of-coconut effect. (I found it worked best to sort of mold the coconut mixture into a rope, and lay it on top of the batter--it's sticky and clumpy and hard to spoon.) Instead of the frosting, I made a glaze by heating 3/4 cup heavy cream and adding 6 oz bittersweet chocolate, then cooling to 90 degrees and pouring it over the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States