Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
added 1 can of sweetened condenced milk to 3 c.coconut and 1 t. vanilla instead of other filling and it worked better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I would not make this cake again. The filling just sat on the bottom and did not rise to the middle of the cake like it was supposed to. It was dry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Like other reviewers, I found this recipe to be dry and adding more moisture, whatever one's choice, i.e. vegetable oil, or other, makes the cake better. Also, need to double the coconut filling amount - it is very small and at the last minute I also made another portion. Otherwise, it is great once tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The concept was intriguing but the results didn't inspire me to want to make this again. My filling didn't sink into the cake and to me it was too dry. People were nice enough to say "how wonderful" but I really think they were just too nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I love this cake! I thought the macaroon part was a bit skimpy, though. That's why I only gave it 4 stars. Next time, I will double the macaroon. I made the recipe as directed, but my egg white for the macaroon would not get stiff. So, I tried again, thinking the plastic bowl was the issue. Even in the glass bowl, no success. So, I added the coconut, flour, and vanilla and moved on. It turned out fine. Just not enough of it for our tastes. The chocolate cake itself was AWESOME! So chocolatey and moist (yes, I added 3/4 cup water instead, as suggested). I also ended up with an extra egg yolk, so I threw it in there, too. Didn't seem to hurt it at all. After all, aren't recipes as much a suggestion, as an absolute? Anyway, overall, this cake is a keeper! I will make it again and again. BTW - I used the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze from this site for my glaze...FANTASTIC! You really should give a go. So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie_Klockow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
So I followed others advice and doubled the water. I am glad I did or this cake would definitely be too dry. Also, the coconut filling did not drop, I had to force it down and spoon batter over the top of it. It TASTES really good but with the flaws in the recipe I feel it would not have been great had I followed it t a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe and loved it, however next time I will double the filling reciipe as well as add another egg white, I found it a bit dry. Also, instead of a chocolate glaze, I used a chocolate ganache - very decadent! I will definetley have this on my list of favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I've tried this twice. The second time I increased water to 3/4 cup, increased sour cream to about 1 cup, increased macaroon by about half. It came out pretty good. I buried the maracoon in the middle before baking, but it rose to the top. It's still not as rich as I'm looking for, but this was very popular at the dinner party I made it for. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Very dry, and it did not come out of the mold. Not enough butter in this recipe to be used in any sort of mold or bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I half followed the suggestions here and added 1/2 cup of water as opposed to 1/4 cup. The cake did turn out a little bit dry, but everyone loved it. The only problem I had was with the coconut mix. Mine was quite dense, but it didn't 'fall' into the chocolate mix. I had to force it. I think next time, I'll half the amount of coconut. I think I'll also pour in half of the mix, then drop the coconut in and put the other half over the top. All in all, a good recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States