Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
In response to those who said the cake was too dry. I have this same recipe in my files, except mine calls for 3/4 cup water. So maybe that is the problem, it just needs more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Great cake! I was the 3rd time I cooked something, and it turned out great, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Delicious and moist.A cake for the true coconut lover.My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Where did I go wrong? I made this for company and couldn't even serve it. It came out VERY dry. All the other ratings said it was so moist! When I was finished with the batter it seemed thick so I went back over the recipe and made sure I hadn't forgotten anything. That's when I started thinking that 1/4 cup liquid didn't seem like very much for a cake. Since I had not forgotten anything and the other reviews were so good I baked it anyway, but was very disappointed in the results. The batter was so thick the macaroon filling never dropped down into the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
added 1 can of sweetened condenced milk to 3 c.coconut and 1 t. vanilla instead of other filling and it worked better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Like other reviewers, I found this recipe to be dry and adding more moisture, whatever one's choice, i.e. vegetable oil, or other, makes the cake better. Also, need to double the coconut filling amount - it is very small and at the last minute I also made another portion. Otherwise, it is great once tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I half followed the suggestions here and added 1/2 cup of water as opposed to 1/4 cup. The cake did turn out a little bit dry, but everyone loved it. The only problem I had was with the coconut mix. Mine was quite dense, but it didn't 'fall' into the chocolate mix. I had to force it. I think next time, I'll half the amount of coconut. I think I'll also pour in half of the mix, then drop the coconut in and put the other half over the top. All in all, a good recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I've tried this twice. The second time I increased water to 3/4 cup, increased sour cream to about 1 cup, increased macaroon by about half. It came out pretty good. I buried the maracoon in the middle before baking, but it rose to the top. It's still not as rich as I'm looking for, but this was very popular at the dinner party I made it for. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe and loved it, however next time I will double the filling reciipe as well as add another egg white, I found it a bit dry. Also, instead of a chocolate glaze, I used a chocolate ganache - very decadent! I will definetley have this on my list of favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I love this cake! I thought the macaroon part was a bit skimpy, though. That's why I only gave it 4 stars. Next time, I will double the macaroon. I made the recipe as directed, but my egg white for the macaroon would not get stiff. So, I tried again, thinking the plastic bowl was the issue. Even in the glass bowl, no success. So, I added the coconut, flour, and vanilla and moved on. It turned out fine. Just not enough of it for our tastes. The chocolate cake itself was AWESOME! So chocolatey and moist (yes, I added 3/4 cup water instead, as suggested). I also ended up with an extra egg yolk, so I threw it in there, too. Didn't seem to hurt it at all. After all, aren't recipes as much a suggestion, as an absolute? Anyway, overall, this cake is a keeper! I will make it again and again. BTW - I used the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze from this site for my glaze...FANTASTIC! You really should give a go. So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie_Klockow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States