Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Delicious and moist.A cake for the true coconut lover.My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I made this cake for a friends pool party. She HAD to have a chocolate macaroon bundt. It was a hit. Moist and delicious, it didn't last long. You know you have a hit when the kids are standing there eating it with their behinds wiggling the whole time and then being told, "this is happy food."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
Good cake -- great for those who like a light, milk-Chocolate-tasting cake. Very similar in taste to a German Chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Great cake! I was the 3rd time I cooked something, and it turned out great, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Where did I go wrong? I made this for company and couldn't even serve it. It came out VERY dry. All the other ratings said it was so moist! When I was finished with the batter it seemed thick so I went back over the recipe and made sure I hadn't forgotten anything. That's when I started thinking that 1/4 cup liquid didn't seem like very much for a cake. Since I had not forgotten anything and the other reviews were so good I baked it anyway, but was very disappointed in the results. The batter was so thick the macaroon filling never dropped down into the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I made this for work and the general consensus was that it was too dry...like the desert! It was time consuming and I, like the previous rater thought that there was not enough liquid in the recipe. I miss the Pillsbury version of this cake so I thought I'd make this but was disappointed. Next time, I would double the coconut part and use a box dark chocolate cake. The batter was so thick with this recipe that the coconut sat on top the whole time. Sorry, nothing good to say about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I thought this cake was pretty good. It was a little dry. The next time I make it, I will add a little more water and I will put the filling in the middle of the cake. The filling wouldn't go down in the cake because the batter was to thick. It set on the top and dried out while baking. The guys still liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
The batter prepared according to the recipe seemed very dry indeed, so I gradually added more water until the consistency seemed right. I also "helped" the filling sink into the cake by saving some of the batter, scooping out a tunnel for the filling, and then covering it with the saved batter (as I had read in the Chocolate Tunnel Cake rcipe on this site). It turned out all right. I made one mistake though: I used sweetened coconut, which had a weird artficial flavor. Next time I'll make sure I use the non-sweetened kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKACSKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
In response to those who said the cake was too dry. I have this same recipe in my files, except mine calls for 3/4 cup water. So maybe that is the problem, it just needs more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I half followed the suggestions here and added 1/2 cup of water as opposed to 1/4 cup. The cake did turn out a little bit dry, but everyone loved it. The only problem I had was with the coconut mix. Mine was quite dense, but it didn't 'fall' into the chocolate mix. I had to force it. I think next time, I'll half the amount of coconut. I think I'll also pour in half of the mix, then drop the coconut in and put the other half over the top. All in all, a good recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States