Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This cake was a great success! I am trying it tonight, but using vanilla cake and pudding and adding confetti sprinkles. also used a 9 x 13 pan instead of a Bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious cake but what does everyone use for the drizzle on top?? I think this should be included in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My nephew wanted this for his birthday cake - the whole family thought this cake was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It was good but I not think it was to sweet. I think it was kind of bitter, next time am going to try milk chocolate. My family though the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this cake and everyone loved it. Served hot with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My go to recipe! This is such a rich most cake, I mix it up with different flavor cake mixes and extract. I always get compliments when I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athenacapri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this for a dinner party last night and it was AMAZING- everyone had seconds. I followed the advise of other reviews and used my kitchen aid paddle and made sure I didn't overmix. I also mixed wet ingredients together before adding to cake mix. For icing I applied store bought whipped cream cheese icing while cake was hot and it melted beautifully on top and down some sides. I decorated with strawberries but we ate it before I was able to take a picture. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
My, oh my, oh my! This is fantastic! I made it just as written except baked it in an angel food pan. I topped it with the ganache recipe from this website. I added Amaretto to the ganache instead of rum. I also heated some frozen raspberries and added just a touch of sugar (enough to allow them to keep their tartness). I sprinkled powdered sugar on the slice of cake and served it with a spoonful of the raspberries on the side. Heaven on earth! I had tried (twice) a different "too much chocolate" cake recipe on this site and my entire family felt it was too heavy and not very flavorful. This one is smooth and delicious. Wow! Thank you, Susan, for a spectacular dessert recipe. This is definitely one to prepare when you are trying to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
It was ok. Did not have the really chocolatey taste that I was trying to achieve. I did fit all the batter in one bundt pan and it did not deflate much at all after baking. Maybe if the glaze recipe was included that is shown in the photo, it would have tasted better. The glaze that I did use, found on this website, wasn't that great either. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States