Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This cake was a hit - if your crowd likes chocolate - they will like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I honestly don't know why it didn't recieve a perfect 5, I read some of the reviews and was hesitant to make the cake, because of the instructions and complaints.. I did change a few things to avoid the cake from flopping or not expanding correctly.. After reading the reviews! I added 1/2 water and did 4 eggs instead of five, and also I did 2 hershey bars broken into pieces for chocoloate chunks. I also ran out of buter and imporvised by adding 1/3 oil.. I was very hesitant but it came up very superb... My husband loved it he said it was the best chocolate cake ever! Also for frosting Hint: I did chocolated pudding mixed with cool whip and put on cake then put cake in refrigerate.... Oh it is to die for, just had some with cofee and I had to ply myself away!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this cake exactly as the recipe states and it was DELISH!! My son has asked that this be is new birthday cake, thanks for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was an amazingly chocolate cake, everyone loved it. As for other reviewers saying it overflowed, maybe they didn't put it in the right size pan. Loved it. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gritzmacher Gutsch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have made this cake multiple times to rave reviews. It is so easy and looks stunning too! I make just a few changes - use Betty Crocker devil's food cake mix, 1/2 tsp. almond extract, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, 6oz. bag of semi-sweet morsels (not the mini ones). once the cake is cool, I drizzle Duncan Hines Amazing Glazes in chocolate and finish it with raspberries around the cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I tested 4 chocolate cake recipes at the same time with similar ingredients and this cake was a good one. My first choice was the Too Much Chocolate Cake recipe and the Double Chocolate Brownie Cake recipe. I sprinkle my chocolate cakes with powdered sugar after it has cooled, no need for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Best Chocolate Cake ever! Didn't have quite enough low fat sour cream so I used 1/2 C. of Greek Non Fat Yogurt to so that I'd have 2 C. worth of that sour cream portion and it still turned out AWESOME! All the kids have asked if I'll make this as their Birthday Cakes from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Amazing! The best chocolate cake I have ever made. People at work swooned and came back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela McElwain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Yummy! I wanted to try a new chocolate cake recipe and this seemed like a good option. It's very similar to another very popular one on this site. I followed the recipe to a "T" except I used a pudding in the mix Devil's Food cake mix and cook and serve pudding mix as that was what I had on hand. The results were excellent but I do agree with one reviewer who said 2 cups of sour cream was a bit of overkill. The other recipe calls for 1 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup warm water along w/cooking oil instead of the butter and they taste equally as good. As the two recipes are so similar, I will probably continue to use the other one to cut a few of the calories and some of the fat. All in all an excellent cake, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Not much of a chocolate lover, but this was absolutely fantastic! I made this cake for my best friend's birthday and also made cupcake out of this recipe for my college design class. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jared Scribbles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States