Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
the recipe is TOO MUCH! i used a bundt pan and followed the recipe to a T... and i smelled smoke, and i opened the oven 40 minutes in and there was batter bubbling over onto the oven wire on the bottom... if you make this cake, only fill it up so much.... onto the tasting! it was so dense, heavy, chocolatey and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is a wonderful chocolate cake and to date my family's favorite. I use vanilla instead of the amaretto (family preference) and also use a tube pan..it overflows in a bundt. Comes out perfect! I also use the "satiny glaze" recipe that can be found on this site on top. I pour it on while the dake is still warm...boy oh boy a yummy gourmet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yum. I followed the recipe except for using vanilla instead of almond extract. I used mini-chocolate chips as well and topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze, a glaze also on allrecipes.com. This is YUMMY with whipped topping or ice cream! :-) It makes a bundt pan FULL and about 6 cupcakes. It rises a LOT, so leave about 2 inches from the top of your pan. Grease and flour well, and it doesn't stick at all. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Yes you MUST LOVE chocolate. This cake is very rich, and oh so delicious. I made it for my father-in-law on his birthday, everyone was going on and on about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Amazing!! I've had blah results every time I've tried to make a homemade chocolate cake, but had never tried adding to a store-bought mix. I should have tried it sooner! This cake is pure wow. Better than any bakery cake I've ever had. I didn't have any troubles at all and didn't change anything except I used vanilla instead of almond extract. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
The perfect cake for a chocaholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Wow! This is the best chocolate cake ever. Very rich. The aroma while it was baking told me there was something special in the oven! No need to divide between 2 pans. Just follow the directions. The cake will rise above the bundt pan while baking, but then settle back down while cooling. The ONLY change I made was using mini chocolate chips. I drizzled icing on the finished cake and added strawberries as pictured. It made a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this exactly as it was written, and it has come out perfect every time. I do use a KitchenAid mixer, with the wisk attachment--just be sure you only put it on the second level--medium on the KitchenAid is NOT the same as medium on a hand mixer. The batter is always very fluffy when I put it in. Also, I can only find cake mix with pudding in the mix, and I STILL add the pudding, and it comes out wonderful! Just be sure to follow this recipe exactly, and you should have no problems! (Be sure to only let it cool for 10 minutes--if you let it cool too long in the pan, it could end up sticking.) Also, I recommend trying it at least once with the Almond Extract (as the recipe calls for.) I'm not a huge fan of nutty flavors, but Almond is known to bring out more of the chocoltae flavor, which it does. If you don't try it, you don't know what you are missing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this cake twice and the first time it flopped. I read through reviews with one star and found mine flopped exactly the way others did. It fell after being taken out of the oven and was a gooey mess. So I spoke to someone who does cake making professionally and to make a long story short I found I had overprocessed it. I use a kitchenaid mixer which is more powerful than a hand held and I used the whisk attachment instead of the paddle attachment. So when I remade it I followed her instructions which were to mix the eggs, sour cream, butter, and vanilla together really well. Then I sifted the cake mix and pudding together and added the wet ingredients to dry and processed it for 2 min with the paddle attachment. This time I was successful. It made a very rich very chocolaty cake. My friend also said another reason cakes fall is the oven is not hot enough and so check your oven temperature with an oven thermometer and make sure the temperature isn't too low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this for a New Year's Eve party. YUM! Turned out great. Actually, I made this twice for the party. I read the reviews and noted how others said to really, REALLY, grease up the pan so it turns out. Then in another review I read that you should put this upside down on a wine bottle (or some such) so the cake doesn't fall. Can you gues where I'm going with this? Yep, as I was trying to turn in over onto the wine bottle, the whole thing fell out, all over my counter. Oops. Made it again, and just let it sit in the pan until I turned it out on a cooling rack. I don't believe it fell at all. When I greased up the bunt pan, I sprinkled coco powder in the bottom. I didn't want any white from flour on my cake. I also read that it's better the next day, so I too made this a day ahead of time. LOL, Fortunately for my family, they had the first one to snack on. I used a Chocolate Ganache, then striped some White Cho. ganache over that. Then I did as the pictures, and added chocolate covered strawberries inside the hole and around the base of the cake. Looks so pretty and professional. Try this, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States