Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have made this numerous times. The only problem is that there is too much batter to fit into my decorative bundt pan. I keep trying to cut back the amount I pour itn, but it still rises over the top. However, this gets rave reviews everytime I make it. I suggest using the recipe on this site for "Satiny Chocolate Glaze." The combo is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
DELISH!! Made this last night!! IT was FANTASTIC!! Did divide the batter. Worked beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is an amazing chocolate cake, definitely the chocolate lovers cake. Definitely will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I don't know why it's taken me so long to review this recipe, because I've been making it for about 5 years now, but let me just say, "the title says it all!" If you love chocolate, you will adore this cake! I like to double up on the almond extract, but other than that, I don't change a thing. Be sure to have some vanilla ice cream to serve along with it; it'll make your taste buds want to get up and dance!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I initially made this cake for a super chocolate lover and it came out perfect. My oldest son is not a big fan of chocolate cake, so I decided to tweak it a little bit for a different take. Instead of chocolate cake mix, I used a vanilla cake mix, white chocolate instant pudding and folded raspberries into the batter before baking. When it was cool, I topped it with cream cheese frosting/glaze while still warm. He absolutely love it and told me it was going to be his favorite cake from now on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
OMG! This cake is amazing and I usually don't make box cakes!! (I'm a homemade snob!) Anwyway, It's very moist with a geat texture! I added a few things and it was simply devine! After putting the cake in the pan, sprinkle some coconut flakes on top. Instead of the satiny chocolate glaze, I made a rum-cream cheese glaze! I'm telling! It was awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvmac2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I used this recipe to make cupcakes for my daughters birthday. They were great! Since I live in a high altitude I added 1/4 cup of flour and 1 tbsp of water to keep the cupcakes from sinking. I replaced 1/2 of the butter with applesauce. and baked them for 22 min. each. VERY RICH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I have made this at least a dozen times and it is always excellent. Loads of chocolate, moist, sometimes a little gooey on the inside. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXIS4000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have browsed over this recipe several times (it's in my "favorites" book), but never gave second thought to making it. I was at my local grocery store, and, while browsing through the magazine section, met a lady who I began to have conversation with. We both LOVE Allrecipes (go figure!) and started talking about recipes we had tried. She suggested this one - with a couple of modifications (i.e. substituting Ghirardelli dark chocolate cake mix and mini chocolate chips, baking in a 9x13 pan and frosting with melted white chocolate chips). I tried her suggestions, except I frosted my cake with Betty Crocker vanilla frosting (I don't care for white chocolate that much). Brought this to work and was surprised to see that it was not devoured (I've brought many dishes to work and they were licked clean), but I think it has to do with timing (I made this in the spring) - everyone is trying to shed those winter pounds : ) I didn't care for this b/c of the dark chocolate flavor (I don't care for the taste, but, b/c I was making this for a crowd, and knowing that dark chocolate is so well-received, I gave it a whirl). I think the batter was better than the finished product (but watch, it is REALLY thick and difficult to mix). One other point to note: use mini chips (I didn't have any on hand). The regular-sized chips don't melt completely. I may make this again (as directed) to see if I like it better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made this for my husband last Valentines Day and he says it's his favorite chocolate cake ever...that says a lot because he is the ultimate chocolate lover. I drizzeled mine with white chocolate and strawberries...next time Ill probably do a glaze or something. Its super moist... and definately worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCHALK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States