Chocolate Lover's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This went over well at my house. The only thing I added was a tablespoon of brewed coffee just because of how the coffee and chocolate work together. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This recipe was perfect for adapting for our family’s dietary needs. I subbed used 1/3 cup + 1 tbl of Stevia and ½ cup + ½ tbl of organic sugar. I replaced one of the packages of cream cheese with Neufchâtel cheese. Instead of butter, I used Smart Balance Blend. I also used low fat graham crackers. To ensure consistency, I used an extra egg yolk. The sour cream was reduced fat. Like many others in the reviews, I melted the chocolate chips. This was by far the tastiest cheesecake I’ve made in awhile. It was also the simplest. I was a little worried that it wouldn’t be set in the allotted time, but I was worried for nothing. The second really made helped bring together the flavors in the topping. I’m not big on toping cheesecakes with sour cream, but this worked. I will say that I’d be fine with no topping at all because the cheesecake doesn’t really need it. The crust was just right, the consistency of the cheesecake was perfect and the taste was spot on. There are no leftovers. If you are hesitating about which recipe to try- go for this one. Its easy and its delicious. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made this recipe tonight for the first time and found it very easy to do. I melted four bakers chocolate squares with a double boiler instead of mixing in chocolate chips as per some previous suggestions and added 10 min to the first cooking time. All who had it enjoyed it very much. The most notable comment was how smooth the cake is. I have tried many cheesecakes in the past and this is by FAR the easiest one I've ever done. I also used a store bought graham cracker pie crust to make it easier yet... and it all fit in perfectly. This is now my "go to" recipe for something sweet and a little fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
A true chocolate lover's dessert! I get tired of seeing 'chocolate' recipes that call for almost no cocoa. Took a star off because the sour cream topping didn't work, it was too much vanilla. Next time I'll either leave out the vanilla or not do the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I'm thrilled to have found this recipe! It was the easiest cheesecake I've ever made, and quite tasty. I skipped the crust, as I always do these days since I'm trying to minimize carbs/sugar (and the cheesecake part is of course the most important part!), and I also used Splenda rather than sugar. The first time I made this, I used the sour cream topping but didn't care for it so much; it tasted fine, but didn't add much for me so I skipped it the second time (so I basically just made the filling) and it was delicious! Word of warning though - I had the brilliant idea of partially melting the chocolate chips and swirling them into the filling the second time (because the first time, I complete melted them and mixed them in very thoroughly), but I didn't stir in the partially melted chocolate very thoroughly because I was trying to swirl it, and I ended up with solidified swirls going through my cake that are super difficult to cut through. A wiser cook than I would have predicted this, I'm sure, but I didn't really think about it. So...next time I'll just throw the chips in unmelted, like you're supposed to anyway! Thanks, JJohn32! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by collegecook53
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I absolutely loved it. I am only a beginner cook and this recipe was incredibly easy and delicious! It was a big hit in my college dorm. The sour cream topping may seem bizarre, but it tasted great. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook53

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KB
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
My 1st cheesecake and it was really good. Added heath but left a slice for my daughter who is allergic to nuts. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I topped it with strawberries and served it with a fruity port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Made this for Valentine's Day and it was delicious. Very rich and creamy. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust. It sliced well and was pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The cheesecake part is good. I thought the topping was very tart. I will leave that off next time. I made it in a 9x13 and it did great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States