Chocolate Lizzie Cake with Caramel Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NCwriter
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is my recipe, and I'm sorry a couple of people have had trouble with it. This isn't a beginner's recipe because you have to be careful not to overheat the frosting, and you have to beat it soooo long for it to get thick enough to spread. If you don't beat it long enough, it will be gritty. If you cook it too long, it will get too thick and be hard to spread. The frosting is temperamental, but well worth it. It isn't a rich buttery-looking caramel; it's more creamy and beige-colored. I've been making this cake every Christmas for more than 20 years and I know it's difficult to make--I've had a few instances where the frosting was too runny or thick as a brick! But when I take the time and pay attention to the details, it is absolutely fabulous. I hope the other reviews don't dissuade you from giving it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I just made this cake over the weekend. At first I was a bit apprehensive because of the reviews I read-several people stated they had trouble with it, particularly the caramel filling-and since I've never made anything with a caramel filling before, I wasn't sure how it would turn out. It DOES take a lot of patience and time, but it IS worth it!! What I did was, after I transferred the saucepan to the bowl of ice water and used the electric mixer for several minutes, I then transferred it into another bowl and placed that bowl in ice water and continued to beat w/the mixer. I kept adding ice cubes to the water and after a bit the filling thickened and was PERFECT. I will make this again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Holy cow yum!!!!!!! This review is of teh caramel filling I needed a caramel filling for a birthday cake for my girlfriend. She does not like chocolate but love love loves caramel. So after reading some whiney reviews and the original posters remarks I decided to tackle this evil caramel recipe ;) I followed the directions to the "T" except instead of an ice bowl i filled my kitchen sink....I have a small kitchen, it was easier lol......so I was concerned at first because in the ice bath it wasnt setting up.....BE PATIENT!......I took a deep breath because i was happy with the somewhat gooey results it didnt run off the cake so yay.....let me tell you about 10 min of the mixture cooling after the hot hard work i came back to put it in a container a BAM low and behold I have caramel "margarine" (that was the consistency) PERFECTION for cake filling!!!!! I put it between the layers of the white chocolate cream cake recipe from this site and it was heaven!!! We had some left over and used it as waffle topping lol!!! I will keep this and use it again and again!!! Thank you for such an amazing recipe and thanks great aunt Lizzie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Carroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I am wondering if the reviewer that thought the caramel filling was too sweet used regular sugar. Powdered sugar makes it fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was delicious but the texture was not quite right. I think that if cooked to the soft ball stage it may have a better chance of sucess. I used it with a yellow butter recipe cake mix, it was good with chocolate icecream but it would have been better with chocolate cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHITIMACHA54
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
i can see this is a difficult receipe, im struggling to get my caramel to thicken enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Birmingham, Worcestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very disappointing 'cause it soundes so delicious. The cake was very yummy, I might make that part again. The caramel filling was just way over the top. I don't know if there was maybe a misprint. 5 cups total sugar (and I did us confectioners suger and superfine, as directed)? It was SUPER-sweet & very heavy. Once cooled, it was not at all smooth like you'd expect caramel filling to be, but very gritty. Trying to spread it tore apart the top of the cake. I actually had to heat it up again so I could pour it over instead. Not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My sugar wasn't carmalized at 225f. Is it not supposed to be like caramel?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States